Australia name squad for 3rd Test at SCG

2016-12-30 10:16
Nathan Lyon (Getty Images)

Melbourne - Selectors added spinners Ashton Agar and Stephen O'Keefe Friday to a 13-man Australia squad for next week's final Test against Pakistan in Sydney.

While Australia have already clinched the series following Friday's innings and 18-run victory over Pakistan in the second Test in Melbourne, there was no room in the squad for batsman Nic Maddinson and fast bowler Chadd Sayers.

The Sydney Cricket Ground pitch traditionally takes spin and selectors have boosted their spin stocks to complement off-spinner Nathan Lyon, keeping bowling all-rounder Hilton Cartwright.

"We have chosen a 13-man squad, including three spinners and an all-rounder to give ourselves maximum options once we see the pitch and determine what our final eleven will be," interim chief selector Trevor Hohns said.

"Both Ashton Agar and Stephen O’Keefe have performed well in first-class cricket this summer and both have bowled well at the SCG this season too so they deserve their selections here.

"And having them in Sydney along with Nathan Lyon means that we can have the three spinners working together in the lead-up to the Test."

Hohns said while Sayers was unfortunate to miss out on the squad and not make his Test debut this season, the expectation of a spin-friendly SCG pitch meant the balance of this squad was appropriate for the likely conditions.

"Nic Maddinson has been omitted after having a taste of Test cricket, something that will definitely benefit him," Hohns said.

"We now want him to go back to domestic cricket and dominate to demand a return to the line-up, something we are confident he will do."

Agar said he was excited to be back in the Australia Test squad after taking 10 wickets for his West Australian state side in a Shield match at the SCG last month.

"I have happy recent memories of bowling at the SCG this season, but I know it will be up to the selectors to decide whether or not I make the final eleven," Agar said.

NSW spinner O’Keefe said he was delighted to be back in the Test squad after a frustrating tour to Sri Lanka earlier in the year.

"But I’m not getting ahead of myself. It’s up to me to impress at practice over the next few days, hopefully earn a spot in the final eleven and then bowl well if given the opportunity,” he said.

Australia squad: Matt Renshaw, David Warner, Usman Khawaja, Steve Smith (captain), Peter Handscomb, Matthew Wade, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, Nathan Lyon, Jackson Bird, Hilton Cartwright, Ashton Agar, Steve O'Keefe.

Read more on:    australia  |  ashton agar  |  nathan lyon  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win the upcoming India v Proteas three-match ODI series?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.