Australia bat against India in 'dead' 4th ODI

2017-09-28 10:27
Steve Smith (Getty)

Bangalore - Australia captain Steve Smith won the toss and elected to bat in the fourth one-day international against India in Bangalore on Thursday.

LIVE: India v Australia, 4th ODI

The visitors, now playing for pride after going 3-0 down in the five-match series, made two changes to their starting line-up for the day-night game at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium.

Wicketkeeper-batsman Matthew Wade and leg-spinner Adam Zampa returned to the team in place of Glenn Maxwell and the injured Ashton Agar, who has been ruled out of the series with a broken finger.

"(The wicket) will slow up as the game goes on. It has been a bit disappointing so far and we have to get back to winning ways," Smith said at the toss.

India, the newly crowned number one ODI side, rested three players, including wrist-spinner Kuldeep Yadav.

Fast bowlers Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav and left-arm spinner Axar Patel, who sat out the first three games due to a sprained ankle, made it to the playing XI.

Indian captain Virat Kohli said "every game is a motivation for us".

"We want to grab every opportunity. It is difficult to create good habits and even more difficult to follow those habits," he said.



Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Ajinkya Rahane, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (wicketkeeper), Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav


Steve Smith (captain), David Warner, Aaron Finch, Travis Head, Marcus Stoinis, Peter Handscomb, Matthew Wade (wicketkeeper), Kane Richardson, Pat Cummins, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Adam Zampa

Umpires: Richard Illingworth (ENG) and Chettithody Shamshuddin (IND)

TV umpire: Marais Erasmus (RSA)

Match referee: Jeff Crowe (NZL)

Read more on:    india  |  australia  |  steve smith  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

The Proteas have announced plans to play a four-day Test against Zimbabwe starting on Boxing Day. What do you make of this?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.