Australia bat against England in 4th ODI

2018-06-21 15:12
Tim Paine (Gallo Images)

Chester-le-Street - Australia captain Tim Paine won the toss and elected to bat in the fourth one-day international against England at Chester-le-Street on Thursday.

LIVE: England v Australia, 4th ODI

Paine opted to field first in the third ODI at Trent Bridge on Tuesday only to see England pile up a record 481 for six on the way to a massive win by 242 runs.

That victory put England, the world's number one ranked side in this format, an unassailable 3-0 up in a five-match series as they went in search of their first 5-0 ODI series whitewash of world champions Australia.

England made one change to their side for this day/night fixture, resting fast bowler Liam Plunkett and giving an ODI debut to Craig Overton.

Australia made three changes to the team that suffered their heaviest ODI defeat, in terms of runs, in Nottingham.

They recalled experienced off-spinner Nathan Lyon and opted to play an extra bowler as Michael Neser returned and D'Arcy Short was left out.

Alex Carey was drafted in at number five as Aaron Finch returned to the top of the order.

All-rounder Glenn Maxwell was left out after suffering a right shoulder injury.

"It looks a good surface, pretty dry underneath," said Paine t the toss. "We've brought Nathan Lyon into the team and we want to give him more of a chance later on (on a wearing pitch)."

England captain Eoin Morgan added: "We would have bowled first.

"The wicket looks good so hopefully we can put in another performance today and get another result under our belt.

"It is a different day with different conditions and we have to recognise that.

"Earning the right to win any game takes a lot of hard work. Hopefully we can restrict Australia to a chaseable target."


England: Jason Roy, Jonny Bairstow, Alex Hales, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan (capt), Jos Buttler (wkt), Moeen Ali, David Willey, Craig Overton, Adil Rashid, Mark Wood

Australia: Aaron Finch, Travis Head, Shaun Marsh, Marcus Stoinis, Alex Carey, Tim Paine (capt/wkt), Ashton Agar, Michael Neser, Jhye Richardson, Nathan Lyon, Billy Stanlake

Umpires: Marais Erasmus (RSA), Michael Gough (ENG)

TV umpire: Kumar Dharmasena (SRI)

Match referee: Ranjan Madugalle (SRI)


Read more on:    england  |  australia  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Following the Proteas' dire tour of India, how will their 4-Test series against England pan out?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.