Australia win toss, bat in 3rd, final India T20

2018-11-25 10:01
Aaron Finch (AFP Photo)

Sydney - Australia captain Aaron Finch won the toss and opted to bat in the third and final Twenty20 international against India in Sydney on Sunday as they look seal the series.

SCORECARD: Australia v India, 3rd T20

Australia won a nail-biting and rain-affected first match in Brisbane by four runs, with the second in Melbourne abandoned due to persistent showers.

It means the best India can do now is share the T20 spoils ahead of their four Test series starting in Adelaide next month.

Australia have been boosted by the inclusion of Mitchell Starc to replace Billy Stanlake who rolled his ankle in the warm-up ahead of the second game.

Nathan Coulter-Nile replaced Stanlake at short notice in Melbourne and keeps his spot with Starc playing in place of Jason Behrendorff.

It is Starc's first short-format international in two years.

"Looks a pretty good wicket, a bit dry and if we can put runs on the board, we are backing ourselves to defend anything," said Finch, who was out for a first ball duck in Melbourne.

Once again, India opted to go with an unchanged side.

"We would have bowled first as well anyway. The last game we played here, we chased down a big score," said India skipper Virat Kohli.

"Our intensity was right up there in the last game and we're really looking forward to this one."



D'Arcy Short, Aaron Finch (captain), Chris Lynn, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Ben McDermott, Alex Carey, Andrew Tye, Adam Zampa, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Mitchell Starc


Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli (captain), Lokesh Rahul, Rishabh Pant, Dinesh Karthik, Krunal Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Khaleel Ahmed

Umpires: Gerard Abood (AUS) and Paul Wilson (AUS)

TV umpire: Simon Fry (AUS)

Match referee: Jeff Crowe (NZL)

Read more on:    india  |  australia  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win the 4-Test series between hosts South Africa and visitors England over Xmas, New Year and into January 2020?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.