Watmore names Zim CWC squad

2015-01-07 21:43
Elton Chigumbura. (Duif du Toit, Gallo Images)

Harare - Zimbabwe’s new coach Dav Whatmore on Wednesday named a 15-man squad for the upcoming Cricket World Cup, aiming for glory after a prolonged poor showing on the global stage.

"The objective is to be really competitive against good opposition, stiff opposition, opposition that is ranked above us and most of the teams are," Whatmore said, flanked by team captain Elton Chigumbura and convenor of selectors Givemore Makoni.

He said the southern African nation’s team must "stay in the game as long as possible" to win matches, with an eye on getting to the "super eight" stage of the tournament.

Whatmore, 60, was appointed Zimbabwe's head coach last week with a promise of a long-term contract, replacing Stephen Mangongo who was demoted to the under-19 team in the wake of a string of defeats.

He has previously coached Bangladesh, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.

Zimbabwe are in pool B, alongside India, South Africa, Pakistan, West Indies, Ireland and the United Arab Emirates.

Zimbabwe Cricket World Cup squad:

Elton Chigumbura (captain), Sikandar Raza Butt, Regis Chakabva, Tendai Chatara, Chamunorwa Chibhabha, Craig Ervine, Tafadzwa Kamungozi, Hamilton Masakadza, Stuart Matsikenyeri, Solomon Mire, Tawanda Mupariwa, Tinashe Panyangara, Brendan Taylor, Prosper Utseya and Sean Williams

Non-travelling reserves: John Nyumbu, Vusimuzi Sibanda, Brian Vitori, Malcolm Waller and Cephas Zhuwao

Coach: Dav Whatmore

Read more on:    cricket world cup  |  zimbabwe  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

The 12-month ban handed down to Steve Smith and David Warner and the 9-month sanction for Cameron Bancroft for their ball-tampering roles, is ...

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.