Zim bat first in Harare

2011-10-20 09:35

Harare - Zimbabwe won the toss and decided to bat in the first one-day international against New Zealand at Harare Sports Club on Thursday.

Zimbabwe were boosted by the return of experienced wicketkeeper-batsman Tatenda Taibu and batsman Vusi Sibanda, who missed two Twenty20 internationals against the same opponents because of injury and a family bereavement respectively.

New Zealand were without all-rounder Jacob Oram because of illness.

New Zealand go into the three-match series on the back of two convincing wins in the Twenty20 games.


Zimbabwe: Brendan Taylor (capt), Vusi Sibanda, Chamu Chibhabha, Hamilton Masakadza, Tatenda Taibu (wk), Forster Mutizwa, Elton Chigumbura, Prosper Utseya, Raymond Price, Kyle Jarvis, Chris Mpofu

New Zealand: Ross Taylor (capt), Brendon McCullum (wk), Martin Guptill, Jesse Ryder, Kane Williamson, Rob Nichol, James Franklin, Nathan McCullum, Doug Bracewell, Kyle Mills, Andy McKay.

Umpires: Bruce Oxenford (AUS), Russell Tiffin (ZIM)

TV umpire: Jeremiah Matibiri (ZIM)

Match referee: Chris Broad (ENG)