Yuvraj blasts Oz in comeback

2013-10-10 21:03
Yuvraj Singh (Gallo Images)
New Delhi -  Yuvraj Singh has blasted an unbeaten 77 as India secured a six-wicket victory over Australia in the one-off Twenty20 international at the Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Rajkot, on Thursday.

According to the website, India, chasing 202 to win, made a good start and overcame the early loss of Rohit Sharma to bring up the team's 50 in the fifth over.

The departure of Suresh Raina for 19 and Shikhar Dhawan (32) did not temper their intent and, on his return to international cricket after 11 months, Yuvraj Singh combined with captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni (24 not out) for 102 for the fifth wicket off only 51 deliveries to achieve the win with two deliveries to spare.

Man-of-the-Match Yuvraj faced only 35 balls and hit eight fours and five maximums.

Earlier, Aaron Finch smashed 89 off 52 to help Australia post 201 for seven after being inserted by India.

Australia hit the ground running, as debutant Nic Maddinson and Finch put on 56 inside five overs before Maddinson retraced his steps, bowled by Bhuvneshwar Kumar for a 16-ball 34.

Vinay Kumar sent both Shane Watson and George Bailey packing in the same over, but Finch stepped up and punished Ravichandran Ashwin for 24 runs in the 10th - including three sixes - to bring up Australia's ton.

The explosive Victorian also passed his second half-century (in only his ninth match), in the same over and continued blasting 14 fours and one six, before hitting a knee-high full toss straight back to Vinay who held on to the catch with two fingers, before hurling the ball on the ground, in some pain. The result of his effort was a taped ring-finger on his left hand.

Bhuvneshwar finished with 3-35 off his four overs, and Vinay bagged 3-26.

The first of seven one-day internationals will be this Sunday in Pune.


S Dhawan, RG Sharma, SK Raina, V Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, MS Dhoni (captain and wicketkeeper), RA Jadeja, R Ashwin, B Kumar, R Vinay Kumar, I Sharma

Australia: NJ Maddinson, AJ Finch, SR Watson, GJ Bailey (captain), GJ Maxwell, BJ Haddin (wicketkeeper), MC Henriques, NM Coulter-Nile, JP Faulkner, CJ McKay, XJ Doherty

Read more on:    yuvraj singh  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

The Proteas have announced plans to play a four-day Test against Zimbabwe starting on Boxing Day. What do you make of this?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.