Windies pick new ODI skipper

2014-12-20 22:33
Clive Lloyd (AFP)

St. John's - Barbados all-rounder Jason Holder was named as the new captain of the West Indies one-day squad on Saturday, taking over from Dwayne Bravo who has been axed after his high-profile role in October's India tour fiasco.

Holder, 23, will lead the West Indies into their five-game series against South Africa in January before heading the squad at the World Cup in Australia and New Zealand in February and March.

Bravo was left out of the 15-man squad although he was named in the Twenty20 party for the three-game series, also in South Africa, next month.

"Jason is one of the good, young players who we believe will form part of the long-term future of West Indies cricket," said Clive Lloyd, the chairperson of selectors.

"We expect him to be around for a very long time. He is a young man with a very bright future. We have invested in him.

"The selectors decided that now is the time to make the transition and Jason will have people around him to help and guide him. Some might say it's close to the time of next year's World Cup but we know that we have a good one-day team which can do very well."

Holder has appeared in 21 ODIs and has taken 29 wickets while he has also appeared in one Test and a T20 international.

Dwayne Bravo was at the forefront of the controversial decision to quit the tour of India four matches into a five-game one-day series after a pay dispute.

He was one of the main players who came in for particular criticism when a task force published its report into the debacle last week.

The new-look West Indies squad also features Jonathan Carter, who has received his maiden overseas tour call, and sees Narsingh Deonarine making a comeback after some strong recent performances.

Left-handed batsman Leon Johnson is retained and all-rounders Carlos Brathwaite and Andre Russell are also included in the squad which has the experienced top order duo of Chris Gayle (subject to a fitness test) and Dwayne Smith.

Fast bowling duties will be handled by Jerome Taylor with support from Sheldon Cottrell.

Sulieman Benn is the lone specialist spinner in the ODI squad.

Kemar Roach, who was originally identified for selection, has joined the injury list after being hurt in the West Indies' innings and 220-run defeat to South Africa in the first Test which ended Saturday.

West Indies ODI squad:

Jason Holder (captain), Sulieman Benn, Carlos Brathwaite, Jonathan Carter, Sheldon Cottrell, Narsingh Deonarine, Leon Johnson, Chris Gayle, Denesh Ramdin, Andre Russell, Marlon Samuels, Lendl Simmons, Dwayne Smith, Jerome Taylor, 15th man TBA

West Indies Twenty20 squad:

Darren Sammy (captain), Sulieman Benn, Carlos Brathwaite, Dwayne Bravo, Sheldon Cottrell, Andre Fletcher, Chris Gayle (subject to fitness test), Jason Holder, Ashley Nurse, Kieron Pollard, Denesh Ramdin, Andre Russell, Marlon Samuels, Lendl Simmons, Dwayne Smith

Read more on:    west indies  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win this year's Cricket World Cup?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.