Windies look to turn the tables

2015-01-08 13:16
Darren Sammy (AFP)

Cape Town - Outplayed in a Test series, the West Indies will seek to turn the tables on South Africa in a three-match Twenty20 international series which starts at Newlands on Friday.

While South Africa have rested several key players, the West Indies T20 squad boasts more experience than the Test squad which was beaten 2-0 in a three-match Test series.

Proven campaigners such as Chris Gayle, Kieron Pollard, Andre Russell, Dwayne Bravo, Dwayne Smith and captain Darren Sammy have joined the touring party for the short-form matches.

Pollard starred for the Cape Cobras, who won South Africa's domestic T20 competition this season, while Gayle, Russell, Bravo and Sammy all played for South African franchises.

South Africa, on the other hand, will be missing star players such as AB de Villiers, Hashim Amla, Dale Steyn and Morne Morkel, who are being rested ahead of a one-day series and next month's Cricket World Cup in Australia and New Zealand.

JP Duminy, one of South Africa's most consistent T20 performers, was named in the host country's squad but his return from a knee injury has been put back again.

Originally expected to appear during the Test series he is now only expected to play in the one-day internationals which start on January 16. Justin Ontong has been added to the squad.

Captain Faf du Plessis and seam bowler Kyle Abbott are the only South African players who appeared in the Test series, while Test captain Denesh Ramdin, Suleiman Benn, Sheldon Cottrell, Jason Holder and Marlon Samuels played for the West Indies in the Test matches.


South Africa: Faf du Plessis (captain), Kyle Abbott, Farhaan Behardien, Marchant de Lange, Reeza Hendricks, Imran Tahir, David Miller, Justin Ontong, Wayne Parnell, Aaron Phangiso, Kagiso Rabada, Rilee Rossouw, Morne van Wyk, David Wiese.

West Indies: Darren Sammy (captain), Sulieman Benn, Carlos Brathwaite, Dwayne Bravo, Sheldon Cottrell, Andre Fletcher, Chris Gayle, Jason Holder, Ashley Nurse, Kieron Pollard, Denesh Ramdin (wkt), Andre Russell, Marlon Samuels, Lendl Simmons, Dwayne Smith.


January 9, Cape Town

January 11, Johannesburg

January 14, Durban

Read more on:    darren sammy  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

The 12-month ban handed down to Steve Smith and David Warner and the 9-month sanction for Cameron Bancroft for their ball-tampering roles, is ...

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.