White named by Oz for T20

2012-08-16 09:56

Sydney - All-rounder Cameron White has been named in Australia's 15-man squad for next month's Twenty20 World Cup in Sri Lanka, seven months after a form slump saw him stripped of captaincy and dropped from the team.

White, who turns 29 on Sunday, was included in the experienced squad which has 10 players aged 28 or older. Brad Hogg is the oldest at 41, with 19-year-old Pat Cummins the youngest.

Victoria off-spinner Glenn Maxwell is the only squad member yet to play for Australia, earning his place at the expense of Steve Smith. Maxwell hit a half century off only 19 balls in Australia's domestic one-day final last season.

The 15-man squad will also be involved in a three-game T20 series against Pakistan in Dubai ahead of the World Cup.

White lost his place in the national team last season after a form slump in Australia's domestic Big Bash league. He averaged only 7.86 with the bat in eight matches before Australia's selectors removed him from the captaincy in January.

But White recovered form during his stint with the Deccan Chargers in this season's Indian Premier League and went on to play well for Northamptonshire in the English county Twenty20 competition.

Chairman of selectors John Inverarity said White's axing may have been the turning point in his international career.

"When a player is dropped it can mean a refocusing and a gathering of determination," Inverarity said. "Cameron White came back into the squad because we thought in a pressure situation, with his experience, he might be better than the younger ones.

"When he's at his best, he's a very destructive player."

Australia is ranked No 9 on world Twenty20 standings but Inverarity said that does not reflect the talent in the squad. Australia has a powerful batting lineup headed by David Warner and Shane Watson and with captain George Bailey and brothers Dave and Michael Hussey in the middle order.

White, wicketkeeper Matthew Wade and all-rounder Dan Christian also contribute to the squad's batting depth.

The Twenty20 World Cup runs from September 17 to October 7. Australia will play pool matches against Ireland and the West Indies with the top-eight qualifiers progressing to playoffs ahead of semifinals and a final in Colombo.

Australia squad: George Bailey (captain), Dan Christian, Pat Cummins, Xavier Docherty, Ben Hilfenhaus, Brad Hogg, David Hussey, Mike Hussey, Glenn Maxwell, Clint McKay, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Shane Watson, Cameron White.