Warner, Johnson back in Test fold

2015-10-12 09:01
David Warner (Gallo Images)

Sydney - Injured opener David Warner along with front-line pacemen Mitchell Johnson and Josh Hazlewood will join a 19-man Australia squad when it begins preparations for a three-Test home series against New Zealand in Sydney on Tuesday.

Cricket Australia said Monday the squad will include the 15 players that were meant to travel to Bangladesh for an aborted two-Test series this month plus Warner, Hazlewood, Johnson and speedster Nathan Coulter-Nile.

The tour of Bangladesh was called off over security concerns.

With the Test squad members now playing for their respective state teams in the domestic one-day cup in Sydney, the two-day camp will give the Test aspirants a hit-out with the red ball.

Warner has not played since breaking his left thumb during Australia's one-day series in England early last month.

After the losing Ashes campaign, fast bowlers Johnson and Hazlewood were rested from the Bangladesh tour and have not yet played in the interstate one-day cup.

The uncapped Coulter-Nile suffered a hamstring injury during the one-day series against England.

Selector Mark Waugh indicated last week that the anticipated returns of Warner, Johnson and Hazlewood for the New Zealand series would squeeze out some players selected for the Bangladesh tour.

"The squad from Bangladesh, it's going to look different for New Zealand. There is no doubt about it," Waugh said.

"Because you didn't have Warner, Hazlewood and Johnson (in the Bangladesh squad), so there's three players straight away you'd imagine would come back into the reckoning for the first Test.

"There's going to be some guys picked for that tour who are probably going to get shuffled back down the order a little bit, but you can't do anything about it."

The camp will involve centre wicket and net practice across both days, Cricket Australia said.

The first Test against the Black Caps is at Brisbane's Gabba from November 5.

Australia - Steve Smith, David Warner, Cameron Bancroft, Joe Burns, Nathan Coulter-Nile, James Faulkner, Andrew Fekete, Josh Hazlewood, Mitchell Johnson, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Shaun Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Peter Nevill, Steve O'Keefe, Peter Siddle, Mitchell Starc, Adam Voges.

Read more on:    david warner  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Following the Proteas' dire tour of India, how will their 4-Test series against England pan out?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.