WP tops at Khaya Majola Week

2012-12-20 18:31

Potchefstroom - Western Province came out on top in the final day of the Coca-Cola Khaya Majola Under-19 Week and remained the only side with an unbeaten record.

The men from the Cape beat Gauteng by four wickets in the main match of the tournament at Senwes Park to ensure they finish the tournament with victories in all their matches.

Gauteng’s opening batsman, Wesley Coulentianos (73) was the main contributor with the bat for his team. He helped them to reach 218 in their allotted 50 overs.

In reply, WP's opening partnership of Dale Brander (39) and Keagan Smith (54) laid the foundation with their partnership of 85 runs. Captain, David Beddinham (45) and Jason Smith (32) also weighed in to secure the victory.

Border’s spin bowler, Hlumelo Notoko (3/19) grabbed a hat-trick of wickets in his side's match against Boland. He caught his first victim, Adrian du Toit (29) from his own bowling before dismissing Hanno Kotze with the next delivery. Kotze was clean bowled with the last delivery of the 18th over. Notoko then got rid of David Stofberg with his next delivery, the first of the 20th over with Yamkela Oliphant assisting with the catch behind the stumps.  

KwaZulu-Natal (KZN) recorded a mammoth victory of 199 runs against Easterns on the final day. KZN posted an imposing 325/5 in their allotted overs thanks to half-centuries from Senuran Muthusamy (89), Dudu Zondo (85) and Tyler Trenoweth (51).

Easterns struggled with the chase as five of their first six batsmen could not managing to get off the mark. Of all of them, only Wesley Marshall (30) was able to give some resistance with the bat. Divan Posthumus’ (61) half-century got Easterns to a more respectable score.  

Free State finished their week on a high thanks to their captain, Ruben Bouwer’s match winning performance against Mpumalanga. Bouwer (78) was his side’s best performer with both bat and ball. He and Ryan du Plessis (60) shared a 122-run partnership over the fifth wicket to secure an emphatic 117-run victory.

Two players, Marko Barnard (Mpumalanga) and Luc Maingard (KwaZulu-Natal Inland) managed to bag five-wicket hauls. Barnard dismissed five Free State batsmen for 52 runs, while Maingard sent five Eastern Province batsmen packing for an excellent 13 runs. 


Gauteng 218 (Wesley Coulentianos 73, Karabo Mogotsi 33; Dawood Christians 3/35); Western Province 222/6 (Keagan Smith 54, David Beddingham 45; Jayden Broodryk 1/18). Western Province won by four wickets.

Eastern Province 198 (Lloyd Brown 53; Luc Maingard 5/13); KwaZulu-Natal Inland 201/4 (Robert Anderson 81*, Greg Oldfield 51). KwaZulu-Natal Inland won by six wickets.

KwaZulu-Natal 325/5 (Senuran Muthusamy 89, Dudu Zondo 85, Tyler Trenoweth 51; Njabulo Zondi 1/7); Easterns 126 (Divan Posthumus 61, Wesley Marshall 30; Nhlakanipho Madwe 3/17). KwaZulu-Natal won by 199 runs.

Boland 219/6 (Justin Dill 50*, Du Toit Maree 36; Hlumelo Notoko 3/19); Border 163 (Tim Niemand 36; Oliver Nel 4/29). Boland won by 56 runs.

Northerns 129 (Gregory Mahlokoane 27, Melvin Morata 27, Leus du Plooy 27; Joshua Pieters 4/14); South Western Districts 108 (Morné Visagie 24; Leus du Plooy 3/21, Corbin Bosch 3/32). Northerns won by 21 runs.

Free State 275/9 (Ruben Bouwer 78, Ryan du Plessis 60, Heinrich Roberts 44; Marko Barnard 5/52); Mpumalanga 158/9 (Wehan Joubert 26; Ruben Bouwer 3/21, Sine Ntshona 3/32). Free State won by 117 runs.

Griqualand West 217 (GM Bruwer 69, Xander Pitchers 37; Thomas Ngwenya 3/52); Limpopo 218/7 (Tian Koekemoer 64, LAndré Coetzee 60, Markus Koen 42; De Wet Bezuidenhout 3/49). Limpopo won by three wickets.

Namibia 202 (Michau du Preez 79, Wayne Raw 37; Thami Mathlare 3/15); North West 168 (Rupert Viljoen 34; Bredell Wessels 3/22). Namibia won by 34 runs.