WP, Boland set for local derby

2011-12-19 18:08

Cape Town - Western Cape neighbours, Western Province and Boland, scored contrasting victories in the first round of 50 overs matches at the Coca-Cola Khaya Majola under-19 Schools Cricket Week on Monday to set up a derby match between the two rivals in the final round of fixtures on Tuesday.

This will be the keynote match of this year’s tournament and will be played at the tournament headquarters at Rondebosch Boys’ High School.

In other feature matches, Northerns take on KZN Coastal at the Western Province Cricket Club and Gauteng play Griquas at the UCT Oval. All matches will start at 9:30.

Boland had a nail-biting 13-run victory over Gauteng in which they successfully managed to defend a modest total of 140. They do, however, have one of the best wicket-taking attacks at the tournament in spite of being deprived of their captain, Lizaad Williams, who was only able to bowl three balls on the first day before suffering a side strain.

There was also a moment of inspired captaincy that saw spinner Keegan Pietersen brought on to bowl what turned out to be the last over of the day when Gauteng still had two wickets in hand. Two balls were all that Pietersen needed to complete the match.

The fact that Western Province managed to beat the previously unbeaten KZN Coastal side was not such a surprise in itself as the host union have impressed with their manner to get across the finishing line even though it has required ugly cricket at times. Their experience of local conditions has also been important. What did surprise was their margin of victory (77 runs) as the visitors crumbled to 85 all out in just 22 overs.

Northerns, who have gone from strength to strength since losing to Western Province on the opening day, cruised past Eastern Province by 7 wickets. The latter’s total of 129 was inadequate against a powerful batting line-up for whom JP Kok top scored with 65 (108 balls).

Easterns and Griquas were also impressive, downing SWD by 7 wickets and KZN Inland by 22 runs respectively. Diego Rosier (61 and 2/24) and Sergio Arends (20 and 2/28) have performed well for Griquas throughout the week while the Easterns big three - Lesiba Ngoepe (88 not out), Jurie Snyman (63) and Vincent Moore (4/14) were all bang on song.

The big upset of the day came from Limpopo who beat Free State by an impressive 67 runs. Johan Viljoen was the main contributor to this success with 64 off 57 balls. Johan van Dyk took 4/26 and then made 21 runs in a losing cause.

In the remaining matches Border beat North West by an overwhelming 117 runs and Mpumalanga accounted for Namibia by 4 wickets. Mkhululi Calana (67 not out off 87 balls) has been a consistent scorer for Border.

Summarised scores:

Boland 140 (Junaid Cassiem 34, Jean Bredenkamp 27, Rudolph Pollard 27, Michael Faasen 3/18, Carmi le Roux 2/32, David Rhoda 2/33). Gauteng 127 (Shaylen Pillay 39, Michael Sherratt 34, Keegan Pietersen 2/0, Jan Frylinck 2/14, Jean Bredenkamp 2/22). Boland won by 13 runs.

Limpopo 175 (John Viljoen 64, Matomi Modiba 34, Dewald Joubert 21, Johan van Dyk 4/26, Thabang Rakhatla 2/7, Corne Dry 2/26). Free State 108 (Ryan du Plessis 27, Johan van Dyk 21, Andries Fouche 20, Tian Koekemoer 3/12, Berend Wierenga 2/18, Waldi Kamfer 2/30). Limpopo won by 67 runs.

Griquas 185 (Diego Rosier 61, Kagisho Mohale 26, Sergio Arends 20, Keegan Davids 3/29, Darryn duPavillon 2/33). KZN Inland 163 (Kewan Harries 30, Darryn duPavillon 27, Parvishkar Indrajith 23, Diego Rosier 2/24, Sergio Arends 2/28, Aiden Brooker 2/32). Griquas won by 22 runs.

Eastern Province 129 (Curtis Samboer 27, Ian Herold 26, Jovaun van Wyngaardt 4/14). Northerns 133/3 (JP Kok 65, Murray Coetzee 37, Solomsi Nqweni 1/11). Northerns won by 7 wickets.

Border 215/7 (Mkhululi Calana 67 not out, Aubrey Ferreira 38, Marco Marais 33, Michael Stuurman 2/25, Marcus Fourie 2/39). North West 98 (Hlumelo Notoko 4/25, Viwe Tongo 1/0, Sinovuyo Ngqoba 1/9). Border won by 117 runs.

SWD 164 (Stephan Gouws 43, Johandre Barnard 25, Keagan Fortuin 22, Vincent Moore 4/14, Henning du Plooy 2/37, Alex Mohlala 1/9). Easterns 165/3 (Lesiba Ngoepe 88 not out, Jurie Snyman 63, Marcello Piedt 2/21). Easterns won by 7 wickets.

Western Province 162 (Rudolph Cronje 34, Taariq Chiektey 30, Mark Airey 3/24, Kyle Simmonds 3/33, Craig Kirsten 2/27). KZN Coastal 85 (Senuran Muthusamy 27, Travis Muller 4/23, Hilio de Abreu 2/5). Western Province won by 77 runs.

Namibia 73 (AJ Liebenberg 3/3, Roger Arendse 3/19, Blake Schraader 2/24). Mpumalanga 74/6 (Mbasa Payana 4/27). Mpumalanga won by 4 wickets.

Final day fixtures:

Western Province vs. Boland (Rondebosch Boys' High); Northerns vs. KwaZulu-Natal Coastal (Wally Wilson Oval, Western Province CC); Gauteng vs. Griqualand West (UCT Oval); Eastern Province vs. Easterns (Wynberg Boys' High); KwaZulu-Natal Inland vs. South Western Districts (Vineyard Oval, Western Province CC); Border vs. Limpopo (Bergvliet HS); Mpumalanga vs. North West (Colin de Jager Oval, Western Province CC); Free State vs. Namibia (Rhodes Rec, UCT).