Vilas, Elgar to lead SA 'A' squads

2015-05-29 10:54
Dean Elgar (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Dane Vilas and Dean Elgar have been named respective South Africa 'A' captains for the four-day and 50-overs teams ahead of their tour to India in July and August.

The Cobras duo of fast bowler, Dane Paterson, and batsman, Omphile Ramela, and Dolphins spinner, Keshav Maharaj, have all been rewarded for their excellent form in the past season’s Sunfoil Series by earning call-ups for the four-day team.

Ramela made 724 runs at an average of 42 while Paterson (42) and Maharaj (36) were among the leading wicket-takers.

Another newcomer is Cameron Delport of the Dolphins who has been selected for the limited overs squad.

South Africa will play a triangular limited overs series against India 'A' and Australia 'A' in which each team will play one another twice plus the top two going through to the final and this will be followed by two four-day unofficial ‘Test’ matches against India 'A'.

“A number of relative newcomers to the Proteas have been included in the South Africa A squads and, with the Proteas due to tour India later this year, this tour will give them invaluable experience of Indian playing conditions,” commented South Africa 'A' coach, Vincent Barnes.

South Africa 'A' four-day squad

Dane Vilas (Nashua Cape Cobras, captain), Temba Bavuma (bizhub Highveld Lions), Gihahn Cloete (Knights), Theunis de Bruyn (The Unlimited Titans), Marchant de Lange (The Unlimited Titans), Beuran Hendricks (Nashua Cape Cobras), Reeza Hendricks (Knights), Keshav Maharaj (Sunfoil Dolphins), Dane Paterson (Nashua Cape Cobras), Dane Piedt (Nashua Cape Cobras), Omphile Ramela (Nashua Cape Cobras), Lonwabo Tsotsobe (bizhub Highveld Lions), Stiaan van Zyl (Nashua Cape Cobras), Hardus Viljoen (bizhub Highveld Lions), David Wiese (The Unlimited Titans)

South Africa A List A squad

Dean Elgar (The Unlimited Titans, captain), Cody Chetty (Sunfoil Dolphins), Theunis de Bruyn (The Unlimited Titans), Marchant de Lange (The Unlimited Titans), Cameron Delport (Sunfoil Dolphins), Beuran Hendricks (Nashua Cape Cobras), Reeza Hendricks (Knights), Eddie Leie (bizhub Highveld Lions), Keshav Maharaj (Sunfoil Dolphins), Omphile Ramela (Nashua Cape Cobras), Mthokozisi Shezi (Nashua Cape Cobras), Lonwabo Tsotsobe (bizhub Highveld Lions), Dane Vilas (Nashua Cape Cobras), David Wiese (The Unlimited Titans), Khaya Zondo (Sunfoil Dolphins)

Read more on:    sa a  |  dean elgar  |  dane vilas  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
1 comment
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk
Breaking News

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win this year's Cricket World Cup?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.