England ease to victory

2010-02-19 21:03
Eoin Morgan (File)

Dubai - England successfully chased Pakistan's modest total of 129-8 to win the first of two Twenty20 Internationals between the teams by seven wickets at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium Friday.

England appeared to be in trouble when they lost three wickets in quick succession, but Kevin Pietersen and Eoin Morgan came together for the highest England fourth-wicket partnership in a Twenty20 match, allowing Paul Collingwoods men to reach the target with nine balls to spare.

Morgan was unbeaten on 67, while Pietersen contributed 43 as England scored 130-3.

Earlier, Pakistan extended its poor run with the bat.

A reckless display by the Pakistan batsmen squandered the toss advantage after stand-in captain Shoaib Malik opted to bat. Malik is captain in place of Shahid Afridi who is serving a two-match ban for ball tampering.

Pakistan wickets fell at regular intervals, starting with opener Imran Nazir who pulled a Stuart Broad delivery to Joe Denly at midwicket, to start the slide. Wickets kept falling at regular intervals thereafter. Malik played a steady hand in the middle overs but he too got out to a tame shot in the 15th over to derail any hopes of recovery.

Graeme Swann was the pick of England's bowlers, taking 2-18.


Imran Nazir c Denly b Broad 2

Imran Farhat run out 14

Khalid Latif c Prior b Wright 4

Umar Akmal c Broad b Swann 13

Shoaib Malik c Collingwood b Swann 33

Fawad Alam c Prior b Broad 23

Abdul Razzaq c Broad b Bresnan 22

Sarfraz Ahmed c Broad b Bresnan 5

Yasir Arafat not out 9

Umar Gul not out 1

Extras: (1w, 1nb, 1lb) 3

TOTAL: (for 8 wickets) 129

Overs: 20.

Fall of wickets: 1-9, 2-20, 3-26, 4-39, 5-86, 6-106, 7-115, 8-119.

Did Not Bat: Saeed Ajmal.

Bowling: Ryan Sidebottom 4-0-21-0, Tim Bresnan 4-0-30-2, Chris Broad 4-0-23-2, Luke Wright 4-0-27-1, Graeme Swann 3-0-18-2, Paul Collingwood 1-0-9-0. ^England=

Jonathan Trott b Razzaq 4

Joe Denly c Farhat b Arafat 1

Kevin Pietersen not out 43

Paul Collingwood run out 0

Eoin Morgan not out 67

Extras: (9w, 5lb, 1nb) 15

TOTAL: (for 3 wickets) 130

Overs: 18.3.

Fall of wickets: 1-7, 2-10, 3-18.

Did not bat: Luke Wright, Matt Prior, Stuart Broad, Tim Bresnan, Graeme Swann, Ryan Sidebottom

Bowling: Abdul Razzaq 4-0-24-1, Yasir Arafat 4-0-18-1 (3w), Shoaib Malik 3-0-28-1 (3w), Saeed Ajmal 4-0-18-0 (1w), Umar Gul 3.3-0-36-0 (2w).

Result: England won by 7 wickets, leads series by 1-0.

Man of the match: Eoin Morgan.


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Springbok coach Allister Coetzee remains defiant, saying he won't resign despite a shambolic two years at the helm. Your thoughts?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.