Top talent in SA A sides

2015-05-30 08:57
Explosive Dolphins opening batsman in the shorter format of the game Cameron Delport has been given a chance to prove himself with selection to the SA A 50-over squad to tour India in July/August. PHOTO: gallo images

DANE Vilas of the Cobras will captain the four-day Test squad and Dean Elgar of Titans the 50 overs squad on the South Africa A tour to India in July and August.

The Cobras duo of fast bowler Dane Paterson and batsman Omphile Ramela plus Dolphins spinner Keshav Maharaj have all been rewarded for their excellent form in the past season’s Sunfoil Series by earning call-ups for the four-day team.

Ramela made 724 runs at an average of 42 while Paterson (42) and Maharaj (36) were among the leading wicket-takers. Another newcomer is Cameron Delport of the Dolphins, who has been selected for the limited overs squad.

South Africa will play a triangular limited overs series against India A and Australia A in which each team will play one another twice plus the top two going through to the final and this will be followed by two four-day unofficial Test matches against India A.

“A number of relative newcomers to the Proteas have been included in the South Africa A squads and, with the Proteas due to tour India later this year, this tour will give them invaluable experience of Indian playing conditions,” commented South Africa A coach Vinnie Barnes. — Supplied.

SA A Four Day Squad: Dane Vilas (Cobras, capt), Temba Bavuma (Lions), Gihahn Cloete (Knights), Theunis de Bruyn (Titans), Marchant de Lange (Titans), Beuran Hendricks (Cobras), Reeza Hendricks (Knights), Keshav Maharaj (Dolphins), Dane Paterson (Cobras), Dane Piedt (Cobras), Omphile Ramela (Cobras), Lonwabo Tsotsobe (Lions), Stiaan van Zyl (Cobras), Hardus Viljoen (Lions), David Wiese (Titans)

SA A 50 Over Squad: Dean Elgar (Titans, capt), Cody Chetty (Dolphins), Theunis de Bruyn (Titans), Marchant de Lange (Titans), Cameron Delport (Dolphins), Beuran Hendricks (Cobras), Reeza Hendricks (Knights), Eddie Leie (Lions), Keshav Maharaj (Dolphins), Omphile Ramela (Cobras), Mthokozisi Shezi (Cobras), Lonwabo Tsotsobe (Lions), Dane Vilas (Cobras), David Wiese (Titans), Khaya Zondo (Dolphins)


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk
Breaking News

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win this year's Cricket World Cup?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.