T20 Domestic Cup

Cobras hold off brave Warriors

2014-01-11 22:00
Cape Cobras (Gallo Images)
Port Elizabeth - The Cape Cobras have lifted themselves into second position on the RAM SLAM T20 table when they beat the Warriors by 18 runs in Saturday’s game at St. George’s Park.

JP Duminy returned to form with a run-a-ball 45 and Justin Ontong hit 37 as the Cobras posted 160 for six after electing to bat first, but it was the new-ball pairing of Rory Kleinveldt and Beuran Hendricks who made the telling contribution.

The duo allowed just two boundaries in the opening four overs as they restricted the Warriors to 17 for one in the first fifth of their chase, piling the pressure on the home batsmen.

With JP Duminy backing them up with two overs that cost just seven, there was no way back for the Warriors despite Davy Jacobs’ unbeaten 62 from just 31 balls.

After Kleinveldt had bowled out with figures of 2 for 23, Jacobs did his best to revive the Warriors with a couple of sixes off Aviwe Mgijima (2 for 31) and then three off the penultimate over from Justin Kemp, but that still left 25 required from the final over.

Hendricks allowed just six to finish with figures of 1 for 15, giving the Cobras a handsome victory that boosted their net run-rate.

Graeme Smith had been ruled out of the game and Hashim Amla was bowled by Wayne Parnell for just one, but Stiaan van Zyl hit 26 from 14 balls in his first innings of the competition and Duminy and Ontong shared a stand of 56 for the third wicket.

Dane Vilas (22), Kemp and Robin Peterson also chipped in with late runs to boost the Cobras’ total to one which proved insurmountable for the Warriors, who dropped down to third place in the standings.


Warriors: Ryan Bailey, Andrew Birch, Simon Harmer, Davy Jacobs (captain, wicketkeeper), Christiaan Jonker, Lundi Mbane, Eddie Moore, Wayne Parnell, Ashwell Prince, Jon-Jon Smuts, Rusty Theron

Cape Cobras: Hashim Amla, Stiaan van Zyl, JP Duminy, Justin Ontong (captain), Dane Vilas (wicketkeeper), Sybrand Engelbrecht, Justin Kemp, Robin Peterson, Rory Kleinveldt, Aviwe Mgijima, Beuran Hendricks


Read News24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.