T20 Challenge

Phangiso confirmed as Lions T20 captain

2017-11-09 15:02
Aaron Phangiso (Gallo Images)

Johannesburg - Aaron Phangiso has been confirmed as the captain for the Highveld Lions for the RAM SLAM T20 Challenge. 

Phangiso, who led the team to the play-offs in 2016, is quietly confident in the team’s chances heading into the competition.

"The Sunfoil Series has been a humbling exercise with the guys. Many hours on the field, many draws but a great opportunity to hone our skills," he said. 

"We are very ready to head into the shortest format of the game – my team is hungry and having the likes of Kagiso Rabada, Dwaine Pretorius and Bjorn Fortuin in your bowling arsenal is a dream for any captain. Add to that the batting skills of Rassie van der Dussen, Mangaliso Mosehle and we have everything we need to challenge our opponents for the silverware." 

The Lions Cricket Board have been encouraged by Phangiso’s performance as captain in his inaugural outing in the previous edition of the competition.

"Aaron has shown that he can lead the team in a decisive and confident manner. We are confident in our decision to support him for this competition and he is aware that we want to see a high level of execution of his skills," said Highveld Lions Chairman, Monyane Nkagisang. 

Head coach, Geoffrey Toyana, is excited by the young inclusions in the squad. Players like Ryan Rickelton (GCB Strikers) and Janneman Malan (NW Dragons) have been included.

"The development pipeline of the Lions’ shareholders is exceptionally strong and we are spoiled for choice. These players are showing a lot of promise and we look forward to giving them the opportunity to experience the team environment as well as show their skills," he said. 

The Lions squad for the 2017 RAM SLAM T20 Challenge is: 

Aaron Phangiso (captain), Rassie van der Dussen, Reeza Hendricks, Mangaliso Mosehle, Dwaine Pretorius, Nicholas van der Berg, Wiaan Mulder, Kagiso Rabada, Marques Ackerman, Omphile Ramela, Bjorn Fortuin, Beuran Hendricks, Hardus Viljoen, Ryan Rickleton, Wihan Lubbe, Carmi le Roux and Janneman Malan.


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk
Breaking News

Monday, 22 April 2019
Warriors v Multiply Titans, East London 14:30
VKB Knights v WSB Cape Cobras, , Bloemfontein 14:30
Highveld Lions v Hollywoodbets Dolphins, Potchefstroom 14:30
Wednesday, 24 April 2019
Highveld Lions v Warriors, , Johannesburg 18:00
VKB Knights v Hollywoodbets Dolphins, , Bloemfontein 18:00
WSB Cape Cobras v Multiply Titans, Paarl 18:00
Friday, 26 April 2019
Multiply Titans v VKB Knights, Centurion 18:00
WSB Cape Cobras v Highveld Lions, , Cape Town 18:00
Warriors v Hollywoodbets Dolphins, , Port Elizabeth 18:00
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Match Result

Which franchise will be crowned 2019 CSA T20 Challenge champions?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.