T20 Challenge

Titans cruise past Impi

2012-02-26 18:25
Jacques Rudolph (Gallo Images)

Benoni - The Impi remained winless after suffering their fifth successive defeat in the T20 Challenge, going down to the Titans at Willowmoore Park, in Benoni, on Sunday.

The Titans won by nine wickets, reaching their target with ease, scoring 137/1, with 26 balls remaining.

The only wicket to fall in their innings was that of Henry Davids after he had done most of the hard work for the Titans.

Davids fired 55 runs from 34 balls, smashing seven fours and two sixes.

He and fellow opener Jacques Rudolph shared a 78-run partnership before Davids was dismissed by Pumelela Zondo.

Rudolph played a flamboyant innings for his unbeaten 47, hitting a six to bring up the winning runs.

The star with the ball earlier in the match, Roelof van der Merwe, was not out on 30 after combining with Rudolph for an unbroken 59-run second-wicket stand.

Winning the toss and batting first, the Impi made 131 all out, thanks largely to a half-century partnership between captain Paul Collingwood and Zondo.

Coming together at 41/2, the pair were cruising along with their 50-run stand coming off 39 balls.

Once Collingwood (28) was run out, and Zondo (33) followed shortly afterwards, caught behind by Heino Kuhn off Van der Merwe, it signalled the collapse.

The Titans would have been disappointed with their fielding as they put down a couple of catches but Van der Merwe was chiefly responsible for destroying the Impi, returning figures of 3/28, while fellow spinner Eden Links picked up 2/21 from his four overs.

Read more on:    t20 challenge  |  jacques rudolph


Read News24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights

Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Match Result

Which franchise will be crowned 2017 T20 Challenge champions?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.