T20 Challenge

Dolphins see off Knights

2012-02-22 21:31
Cody Chetty (Gallo Images)
Bloemfontein - An exceptional maiden half century from Cody Chetty proved key as the Dolphins made it two wins out of two with a hard-fought eight-run victory over the Knights in their T20 Challenge match at Chevrolet Park in Bloemfontein on Wednesday.

The young right-hander, better known for his solidity rather than his flamboyance, showed a bit of both as he manufactured a magnificent 82 off 50 balls, including four sixes and six fours, to help the visitors reach 184 for six batting first.

Proteas batsman David Miller made 40 off 25, while Loots Bosman ended with 25 off 18.

In reply, Rilee Rossouw struck 57 off 38 and Ryan Bailey hit a valiant unbeaten 50 off 29, but the hosts could only manage 176 for five.

Proteas leg-spinner Imran Tahir ended as the pick of the bowlers with two for 29, but along with the rest of the Dolphins attacked owed a lot to Chetty after he helped them set a total that was four shy of the highest ever T20 score at the Free State ground.

Their effort looked improbable at the start, though, and after winning the toss and batting, they lost captain Imraan Khan (four) in the first over when he tried to flick Johan van der Wath (2-36) down the leg side and succeeded only in feathering an edge to wicketkeeper Morne van Wyk.

Ahmed Amla, back after over two months out due to injury, was in next and smashed a quick-fire 11, before a leading edge off Van der Wath was easily collected by Ryan Bailey running back from mid-off.

Despite the two early wickets, the men from Durban managed to maintain the high run rate and when Bosman flicked Ryan McLaren for six over deep square leg, the 50 was up inside six overs.

Along with Cody Chetty, they put on 42 together in 29 balls before Bosman skied Roman Terblanche to McLaren at cover.

The wicket of Vaughn van Jaarsveld (seven) followed shortly after, caught by Bailey off Jandre Coetzee, before successive boundaries from Chetty took the Dolphins past 100 in the 12th over.

The young batsman reached his first T20 half-century with a single, getting there from 32 balls, before finding a capable partner in Miller.

The two then upped the ante with 50 in 33 balls as the Dolphins cruised past 150 in the 18th over, which went for 17 thanks to two more maximums from Cody off Werner Coetsee.

He was eventually run out at the non-strikers end as the visitors sought out quick runs, before Miller too fell as the innings ended on a low key note.

In reply, Van Wyk (four) cut Mthokozisi Shezi’s first ball loosener away for four, but the bowler had his man next ball, which came off the gloves of the batsman and looped gently to Daryn Smit behind the stumps.

But Obus Pienaar and Rossouw steadily rebuilt to put the home side back on course.

South Africa ace Tahir was introduced in the seventh over and his first ball was flicked for six by Pienaar as the Knights went past 50.

The half-century stand came up in 41 balls, but after putting on 71 together, Pienaar picked out Miller in the deep with part-timer Imraan Khan the bowler.

It was 75 for two at that stage and Rossouw kept going by crossing his own 50 in 33 balls to keep hopes alive for his side.

However, he was run out shortly after the Knights went past 100 in the 13th over – Miller’s strong throw from long-off catching the batsman short whilst attempting a second.

With five overs remaining, there were still 50 to get and seven wickets standing, but Tahir took one of them straight away after form man Reeza Hendricks (16) was taken by Miller at long-on.

The leg-spinner then delivered the perfect googly to take out Van der Wath (four) and with 34 to get from the 12 and 19 off the final six, it proved a task too large as the Dolphins held on.


Knights: Morne van Wyk (captain, wk), Rilee Rossouw, Reeza Hendricks, Ryan Bailey, Obus Pienaar, Johan van der Wath, Ryan McLaren, Werner Coetsee, Malusi Siboto, Roman Terblanche, Jandre Coetzee.

Dolphins: Loots Bosman, Imraan Khan (captain), Ahmed Amla, Vaughn van Jaarsveld, David Miller, Cody Chetty, Daryn Smit (wk), Robbie Frylinck, Kyle Abbott, Imran Tahir, Mthokozisi Shezi.

Read more on:    t20 challenge


Read News24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights

Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Match Result

Which franchise will be crowned 2017 T20 Challenge champions?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.