Titans retain SuperSport title

2009-03-28 18:46

Bloemfontein - Morne Morkel led the Titans to a crushing 10-wicket win over the Eagles on the third day of their SuperSport Series match at the OUTsurance Oval in Bloemfontein on Saturday.

The Titans had needed ten overs, and the skills of fast bowler Morkel who finished with innings figures of 6-48 off 21 overs and match figures of 12-91, to end the Eagles’ resistance during the morning session with the home side bowled out for 169.

The Titans were left needing to score 137 runs for victory and their opening batsmen, Heino Kuhn and Blake Snijman, duly delivered with Snijman hitting the winning runs 15 minutes after lunch with the Titans ending on 139 without loss.

The Titans’ openers set off at a good pace as they brought up the 50-run partnership off 57 balls.

Kuhn set off like a man with dinner reservations and he went to his 17th first-class 50 off 48 balls with ten fours before going to lunch unbeaten on 66 off 64 balls with 11 fours and one six while Snijman was not out on 30 off 66 balls.

Kuhn and Snijman were untroubled after the break as they knocked off the 31 runs needed to win with Kuhn ending not out on 78 off 82 balls with 12 fours and a six while Snijman ended unbeaten on 47 off 83 balls with four fours and a six while the opening partnership came at better than five runs to the over.

The Eagles began the day on 139 for seven and they added 14 runs to their overnight score before Charl Pietersen become Morkel’s tenth wicket of the match after he was caught behind by keeper Kuhn.

The Eagles' other not out batsman at the start of play, Thandi Tshabalala, struck a lively 23 off 37 balls with four fours before Morkel had him caught in the slip cordon to give Morkel his second five-wicket haul in the match and leave the Eagles on 158 for nine.

Morkel then wrapped up the innings with his third wicket of the morning when he bowled CJ de Villiers to leave the Eagles having to defend 137 runs.


Eagles: Dean Elgar, Reeza Hendricks, Rilee Rossouw, Boeta Dippenaar (captain), Morne van Wyk, Ryan Bailey, Con de Lange, Charl Pietersen, CJ de Villiers, Thandi Tshabalala, Victor Mpitsang

Titans: Heino Kuhn, Blake Snijman, Gulam Bodi, Jacques Rudolph, Faf du Plessis, Farhaan Behardien, Pierre Joubert (captain), Imran Tahir, Ethy Mbhalati, Basheer Walters, Morne Morkel