Dolphins, Knights in stalemate

2011-03-27 14:20

The SuperSport Series match between the Nashua Dolphins and the Chevrolet Knights ended in a frustrating stalemate as rain and bad light combined to thwart the efforts by the visitors to take the remaining nine wickets in the follow-on innings of the Dolphins with the hosts stuck on 37/1 at the City Oval in Pietermaritzburg on Sunday.

The game was called off after only 15.3 overs of the follow-on on Sunday with the Dolphins in some trouble on 37/1. Imraan Khan (13, 56 balls, 2x4) and Daryn Smit (5, 15 balls, 1x4) were at the crease.

The Knights scored 428/6 (declared) in their first innings, and dismissed the Dolphins for 239 in their first innings.

Michael Erlank captured 5/107 in 19.2 overs and Dillon du Preez took 3/28 in thirteen overs to rip the heart out of the top- and middle order of the hosts.

The Dolphins, with a first-innings deficit of 189 runs, were forced to follow on.

At stumps on Saturday, the Dolphins had 10/0.

They made slow progress to 23/0 before Divan van Wyk top-edged a delivery from the swing bowler Charl Pietersen to fine leg, where Du Preez took the catch. Du Preez contributed 14 (23 balls, 2x4).

Pietersen captured 1/19 in six overs, while Ryan McLaren finished with 0/9 from 4 overs.

Only 115 overs were possible on the first two days because of persistent drizzles and bad light.

The Knights used their limited time and overs to maximum effect, as Obus Pienaar (119, 166 balls, 13x4, 3x6), Reeza Hendricks (61, 95 balls, 9x4), Dean Elgar (74, 144 balls, 11x4, 1x6) en Ryan Bailey (80, 133 balls, 12x4) slammed 428/6 collectively.

The absence of Quinton Friend and Kyle Abbott made life easier for the visitors. The inexperience of Brady Barends and Keegan Eccles were exposed by the top-order of the Knights.

The Knights finished with 9.56 points, but could have had ten more, simply because their bowling attack seemingly held the aces throughout the match.

The Dolphins collected 4.78 points.


Nashua Dolphins: Imraan Khan (captain), Divan van Wyk, Devon Conway, David Miller, Vaughn van Jaarsveld, Jon Kent, Abul Razak, Daryn Smit, Keshav, Keegan Eccles, Brady Barends.

Chevrolet Knights: Ryan McLaren (captain), Reeza Hendricks, Dean Elgar, Rilee Rossouw, Ryan Bailey, Adrian McLaren, Obus Pienaar, Charl Pietersen, Michael Erlank, Dillon du Preez, Gino Vries.