Mpitsang destroys Dolphins

2010-10-02 13:20

Johannesburg - The Nashua Dolphins suffered a stunning batting collapse at the hands of Victor Mpitsang before the Chevrolet Knights reached 44 for one in their second innings at lunch on the third day of their SuperSport Series match at the De Beers Diamond Oval in Kimberley on Saturday.

Mpitsang tore through the Dolphins batting line-up as the visitors lost five wickets for the addition of just 24 runs during the morning session to be bowled out for 167.

The 30-year-old Mpitsang returned career-best figures of six for 30 off 16 overs as the Durban-based franchise collapsed in stunning fashion to hand their opponents a 240-run lead on the first innings.

Mpitsang enjoyed a superb morning as he nabbed all five wickets to fall while conceding just eight runs.

Paceman Mpitsang began the Dolphins’ woes when he had Daryn Smit (47) caught in the slip cordon before he trapped Jon Kent (27) leg-before.

Mpitsang then claimed three wickets in one over to end the Dolphins’ resistance. Quinton Friend (0) was caught in the slips before Imran Tahir sent an edge through to keeper Morne van Wyk.

Fittingly, Mpitsang wrapped up the innings with the last ball of the 70th over when Tabraiz Shamsi (0) was also caught by Van Wyk.

Kyle Abbott was not out on five while Ryan McLaren chipped in with three for 70.

The Knights declined to enforce the follow-on and Reeza Hendricks (16) and Dean Elgar put on 19 runs for the first wicket before Hendricks fell to fast bowler Friend for the second time in the match when the right-handed batsman was caught behind by keeper Smit.

Elgar reached the break on 16 while Rilee Rossouw was unbeaten on 11 as the Knights stretched their lead to 284 runs.


Chevrolet Knights - Dean Elgar, Reeza Hendricks, Rilee Rossouw, Boeta Dippenaar, Morne van Wyk (capt, wk) , Ryan Bailey, Ryan McLaren, Dillon du Preez, Victor Mpitsang , Thandi Tshabalala, Cobus Pienaar.

Nashua Dolphins - Imraan Khan (capt) , Loots Bosman, Hashim Amla, Ahmed Amla, David Miller, Daryn Smit (wk), Jon Kent, Kyle Abbott, Quinton Friend, Imran Tahir, Tabraiz Shamsi.