Sunrisers hold off KKR

2015-04-22 17:35
David Warner (Sportzpics)

Cape Town - The Sunrisers Hyderabad had to endure a lengthy rain delay in Visakhapatnam on Wednesday, but they ultimately held on for a morale-boosting, 16-run win over the Kolkata Knight Riders, with the assistance of the Duckworth/Lewis method.

Having posted 177 for four in their overs, the Sunrisers then watched on as an extended shower kept them off the field for over an hour, and then the match reduced to a 12-over dash for the defending IPL champions, reports the website.

The luckless Dale Steyn watched on as three chances were missed off his first two overs, but the Sunrisers then hit their straps, as the mounting run-rate proved too much for the 2014 winners.

Manish Pandey was left stranded on 33 not out, as wickets fell regularly at the other end.

Robin Uthappa played some breath-taking strokes on his way to 34 off 21 balls, and the powerful Andre Russell briefly threatened to explode into life, but the Sunrisers held their nerve.

David Warner had earlier slammed 91 off just 55 balls, to help the Sunrisers to 177 for four, after Gautam Gambhir had won the toss and elected to bowl first. Warner and Shikhar Dhawan (54 off 46 balls) clubbed 130 for the first wicket, with Warner the aggressor. 43 runs were added in the first six overs, before the Aussie ace reached his half-century off just 36 balls.

Having got to 100 inside 12 overs, the Hyderabad outfit looked set to put on a total beyond 200. But, the reintroduction of Kolkata trump-card Morné Morkel dragged the Knight Riders back into the game.

Having conceded 19 in his first two overs, Morkel returned to claim two for 12 in his last two overs, getting Warner out to a skied pull, and then having Ravi Bopara caught by Johan Botha at cover. Botha himself had earlier served up a fine spell of 0 for 26 in his four overs.

The Sunrisers secured their second win of the season, and leave the coastal venue of Visakhapatnam with hope renewed for the 2015 campaign.


Sunrisers Hyderabad: DA Warner (captain), S Dhawan, KL Rahul, NV Ojha (wicketkeeper), RS Bopara, MC Henriques, KV Sharma, Bipul Sharma, P Kumar, B Kumar, DW Steyn

Kolkata Knight Riders: RV Uthappa (wicketkeeper), G Gambhir (captain), MK Pandey, SA Yadav, YK Pathan, AD Russell, J Botha, PP Chawla, SP Narine, M Morkel, UT Yadav


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

The Proteas have announced plans to play a four-day Test against Zimbabwe starting on Boxing Day. What do you make of this?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.