Sunfoil Series

Morris 6-for takes Titans to Sunfoil Series title

2018-03-25 21:38
Chris Morris (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - The Titans were crowned 2017/18 Sunfoil Series champions on Sunday after concluding a tense final round of rain-hit matches with a nervy four-wicket win over the Knights in Centurion.

READ: CSA congratulates Titans on winning Sunfoil Series title

Chris Morris was their star performer with six for 55 that helped set up a low-scoring chase of 110, which the hosts knocked off with plenty of time to spare.

Mark Boucher's side went into the final round of games in fourth place and as one of the teams with the slimmest of chances of claiming the four-day crown, but in the end finished the day with their fifth outright first-class title of the franchise era.

The Warriors, who had begun the round first, had to settle for runners-up, and the Cape Cobras in third.


The final day, which was effectively the second day of the match after the opening two days had been washed out by rain, had started out with the Knights batting on 62 for three and still trailing by 38 in their second innings.

Both sides had faced 40 overs each in their first innings - the away side posting 169 for seven declared and the home side replying with 269 for three declared.

Captain Rudi Second top-scored with 76 (136 balls, 8 fours), with David Miller chipping in with 52 (70 balls, 8 fours), before Morris and Malusi Siboto (3/43) ripped through the middle and lower order to leave the Central franchise all out for 209.

It left a target of just over 100 to get, and despite Marchant de Lange grabbing three for 40, an important 43 from Heino Kuhn and 29 by Farhaan Behardien ensured the Titans got to their target midway through the final afternoon.

They then had to wait for the result of the Highveld Lions against the Cobras - the latter needing to win in order to win the title - but as it played out, the Cape side fell to a nine-wicket loss handing the Titans the title.

It also capped another impressive season for Boucher's side, who secured the double after their success in the RAM SLAM T20 Challenge.

Image: Gallo

Read more on:    titans  |  sunfoil series  |  chris morris  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy


Who will you be backing in this year's Sunfoil Series?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.