Sunfoil Series

CSA congratulates Titans on winning Sunfoil Series

2016-04-09 14:43
CSA CEO Haroon Lorgat

Cape Town - The Titans claimed the trophy in champion style by beating the Cape Cobras at Paarl by 10 runs in their final match to place themselves out of the reach of their nearest rivals, the Knights and the defending champions, the Highveld Lions.

“They have played impressively throughout the season and proved themselves to be worthy champions,” commented CSA Chief Executive, Haroon Lorgat.

“The Titans strength in depth has been noticeable and this enabled them to set the pace for most of the competition.

“Congratulations must also go to Heino Kuhn who has joined the distinguished list of batsmen who have scored more than 1 000 runs in a Sunfoil Series season, while Dean Elgar and Qaasim Adams have also featured prominently on the batting averages. The Titans also boast two of the competition’s leading bowlers in Marchant de Lange and Tabraiz Shamsi. The way the latter has developed this past season must have caught the attention of the national selectors.

“The positive approach of the Titans is reflected in their six outright wins in 10 matches, more batting points than any other team and a similar number of bowling points to the other major contenders.

“The Titans have also been great contributors to the national cause with players like AB de Villiers, Faf du Plessis, the Morkel brothers, Quinton de Kock, Chris Morris, David Wiese and Farhaan Behardien making their mark in the Proteas setup.

“I must repeat our great appreciation to the Willowton Group for the sizeable increase in sponsorship through their Sunfoil brand which has provided the basis for us to make our domestic first-class cricket highly competitive. It was indeed pleasing to see the competition being decided in the last weekend,” concluded Mr. Lorgat.

Read more on:    titans  |  sunfoil series  |  haroon lorgat  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy


Who will you be backing in this year's Sunfoil Series?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.