Sunfoil Series

CSA announces fixtures for 2018/19 domestic season

2018-08-27 10:36
Thabang Moroe
Thabang Moroe (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Cricket South Africa (CSA) has released its fixtures for the 2018/19 domestic season, leaving a window open for the hosting of its troubled T20 League.

The CSA board announced last week that it would reach a final decision on whether or not the un-named T20 League, formerly known as the T20 Global league, would go ahead this year. 

The tournament was due to be launched at the end of 2017, but that did not happen as the CSA board pulled the plug amidst financial concerns and the lack of a broadcaster. 

The plan now is to host a six-team tournament at the end of 2018 with the aim of securing franchises, international players and venues all in the next few months. 

It remains to be seen whether or not the tournament ever takes flight, but CSA has kept the window open. 

The 2018/19 domestic season gets underway on September 26 when the Titans host the Dolphins at SuperSport Park in the Sunfoil Series. 

The Momentum One Day Cup, meanwhile, gets underway on February 8, 2019 when the Cape Cobras host the warriors at Boland Park. 

South Africa's domestic T20 tournament, the T20 Challenge (formerly RAM SLAM T20 Challenge), will still go ahead regardless of whether or not CSA pulls off its Global League replacement. 

That competition gets underway on April 5, 2019 when the Titans host the Warriors at SuperSport Park. 

The Sunfoil Series, meanwhile, breaks between October 29 and December 19. 

That would allow the international T20 tournament to take place in November, as was initially planned. 

Read more on:    csa  |  t20 global league  |  sunfoil series  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy


Who will you be backing in this year's Sunfoil Series?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.