Sunfoil Series

Cape Cobras, Warriors in high-scoring draw

2016-10-23 21:29
Paul Adams (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Rookies Jason Smith and Aviwe Mgijima joined the Newlands run fest on the final day of the Sunfoil Series clash between the Cape Cobras and the Warriors as the match in Cape Town ended in a high-scoring draw on Sunday.

Smith hit 63 (99 balls, 8 fours, 1 six) and Mgijima made 54 (104 balls, 5 fours) - the pair both playing in the fourth franchise matches of their careers - as the hosts amassed 567/7 in reply to the visitors’ 525/7 declared.

Both totals were the highest against each other, in a match where bat dominated ball and only 14 wickets fell over the course of the four days.

There were three centurions - Colin Ackermann (146), Andrew Puttick (124) and Omphile Ramela (170) - to go along with six half-centurions.

Among the bowlers, Basheer Walters was the most successful with 2/79, while Simon Harmer took 2/176 from a marathon 69 overs of spin.

The result at least provided some respite for the Cobras, who had lost both previous matches of the season to date. The Capetonians, who had resumed the final day on 374/3, took 2.82 points from the game.

The Warriors secured 4.98 points after one loss and one win from their first two matches.


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Match Result

Who will you be backing in this year's Sunfoil Series?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.