Sunfoil Series

Cobras lift Sunfoil trophy

2013-02-09 13:51
Justin Kemp (Gallo)

Bloemfontein - The Cape Cobras celebrated their Sunfoil Series title by crushing the Knights by 10 wickets in the final match at Chevrolet Park in Bloemfontein, shorty after lunch on day three, with Richard Levi smashing a four off the last ball of the first over.

According to the website, the Cobras required just three runs for the victory after dismissing the Knights for 227 in their second innings on the stroke of lunch.

The Cobras had a chance to wrap up the match with an innings victory, but Dillon du Preez (44) and Malusi Siboto (22 not out) added 45 runs for the last wicket in just 3.1 overs.

Du Preez smashed seven fours and two sixes in his 26-ball knock, while Siboto hit five fours in 10 deliveries. Johann Louw and Beuran Hendricks bore the brunt of the onslaught as Justin Ontong used his main strike bowlers in search of the final wicket.

The hosts lost six wickets in the morning session, after resuming from their overnight score of 60 for four. Hendricks and Louw were the chief destroyers as the pair shared eight of the ten wickets, with Justin Kemp claiming the other two.

Ryan McLaren (42) and Rilee Rossouw (41) were the only other contributors to the total as the Cobras showed just why they were confirmed champions of the Sunfoil Series before lunch on day two.

Rossouw lasted only three overs in the morning session before being caught by Kemp off Louw's bowling. Rossouw and Obus Pienaar put on 41 runs for the fifth wicket, at a blistering pace of 6.15 runs per over.

The Knights lost wickets at regular intervals and were not able to build any sort of partnerships, as Kemp dismissed Pienaar (33) and then Werner Coetsee (9) in the space of four overs. Johan van der Wath smashed 19 runs off 14 balls before being castle by Hendricks.

Once McLaren lost his wicket, caught behind off Hendricks in the 41st over, the writing was on the wall in permanent marker, but Du Preez and Siboto ensured that the hosts survived the shame of losing by an innings.

Louw ended with 5-70 from 13.3 overs, while Hendricks continued to impress with 3-67 from 12 overs, taking his match tally to seven wickets.

The Knights were always behind the 8-ball, after they were sent into bat by the Cobras' captain, Justin Ontong. The hosts were dismissed for 191 in their first innings, with only Rossouw (59) and Gihahn Cloete (41) posting any meaningful contribution.

Hendricks snapped up four victims for 50 runs in 15 overs, which also included four maidens. Kemp and Robin Peterson picked up two wickets each.

The Cobras then replied with 416 for six, declared, with centuries from Richard Levi (121), Stiaan van Zyl (148) and the captain himself. Ontong faced just 135 balls for his 109. Van Zyl's 447-minute knock included 24 boundaries and one six, while sharing in two significant partnerships.

Van Zyl and Levi shared a second wicket partnership of 165, while Ontong and Van Zyl added exactly 200 for the third wicket, which knocked the stuffing out of the hosts. After losing Vilas and Yaseen Vallie in quick succession, Ontong declared when Van Zyl lost his wicket.

The Knights' bowlers toiled hard, but could not match their opponents with the ball. Johan van der Watch and McLaren both claimed two wickets, but were quite expensive in the grand sceme of things. Only Du Preez showed any form of restriction, conceding only 26 runs from 12 overs.

The Cobras regained the title they surrendered to the Titans last season, with the former champions ending bottom of the Sunfoil Series log.

Read more on:    cape cobras  |  sunfoil series  |  justin kemp  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Thursday, 08 February 2018
Warriors v Highveld Lions, East London 10:00
VKB Knights v Hollywoodbets Dolphins, Bloemfontein 10:00
Multiply Titans v WSB Cape Cobras, Benoni 10:00
Thursday, 15 February 2018
VKB Knights v Multiply Titans, Kimberley 10:00
WSB Cape Cobras v Highveld Lions, Paarl 10:00
Warriors v Hollywoodbets Dolphins, Port Elizabeth 10:00
Thursday, 01 March 2018
Hollywoodbets Dolphins v WSB Cape Cobras, Pietermaritzburg Oval 09:30
VKB Knights v Highveld Lions, Kimberley 10:00
Warriors v Multiply Titans, East London 10:00
Thursday, 15 March 2018
Highveld Lions v Hollywoodbets Dolphins, Johannesburg 10:00
Warriors v VKB Knights, East London 10:00
WSB Cape Cobras v Multiply Titans, Paarl 10:00
Thursday, 22 March 2018
Hollywoodbets Dolphins v Warriors, Durban 09:30
Multiply Titans v VKB Knights, Centurion 10:00
Highveld Lions v WSB Cape Cobras, Potchefstroom 10:00
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Match Result

Who will you be backing in this year's Sunfoil Series?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.