Sunfoil Series

Bailey stars for Knights

2012-09-21 18:14
Ryan Bailey (Gallo Images)
Kimberley - The two Ryans, Ryan Bailey and Ryan McLaren, put the Chevrolet Knights on top against the Nashua Titans in the Sunfoil Series match at the De Beers Diamond Oval on Friday.

Bailey scored his maiden double century to power the hosts to 455. McLaren then captured 3 for 35 to restrict the Titans to 131 for three before bad light stopped play.

Bailey resumed on 157 on Friday and guided the Knights from 355 for seven to 455 all out. His contribution was a career-best 220, off 310 balls with 34 boundaries.

Morné van Wyk, with 133, and Bailey were the chief architects in compiling the mammoth total, as they featured in a 259-run partnership for the fifth wicket.

Ethy Mbhalati featured prominently with the ball and finished with a career-best 6/98 in 27 overs.

He removed Dillon du Preez (9) and Quinton Friend (5) in quick succession, but could not deny Bailey and Malusi Siboto.

Siboto scored an undefeated 30 and helped to guide Bailey to his maiden double century.

The Titans started quietly before McLaren had Tumelo Bodibe caught behind for 6.

Jacques Rudolph took centre stage after his departure, and hit eight sparkling fours in his half-century off 78 balls.

He was the senior partner in a 74-run partnership with a more sedate Pieter Malan.

Malan misjudged a delivery by McLaren shortly after the tea break and saw his off-stump rattled by a McLaren thunderbolt.

Malan scored 26 and his departure saw the Titans slip to 91-2.

McLaren moved the ball off the seam and that was Rudolph’s undoing as he played down the wrong line, only to push the ball in the air to cover, where Werner Coetsee hung onto it.

Rudolph scored 68 off 142 balls, with ten fours.

Although he would have been desperately unhappy with his dismissal, it was vintage Rudolph again, playing with an assuredness and freedom that should lure more spectators to Sunfoil Series games.

McLaren received solid support from Coetsee, who finished on 0-25 in ten overs.

Dillon du Preez did not feature in the wickets column, but bowled nine disciplined overs for 17 runs.


Chevrolet Knights: Morné van Wyk (captain), Dean Elgar, Reeza Hendricks, Obus Pienaar, Ryan Bailey, Werner Coetsee, Ryan McLaren, Aubrey Swanepoel, Malusi Siboto, Quinton Friend, Dillon du Preez

Nashua Titans: Henry Davids (captain), Jacques Rudolph, Tumelo Bodibe, Pieter Malan, Heino Kuhn, David Wiese, Paul Harris, CJ de Villiers, Ethy Mbhalati, Rowan Richards, Roelof van der Merwe.

Read more on:    sunfoil series  |  ryan mclaren  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Thursday, 08 February 2018
Warriors v Highveld Lions, East London 10:00
VKB Knights v Hollywoodbets Dolphins, Bloemfontein 10:00
Multiply Titans v WSB Cape Cobras, Benoni 10:00
Thursday, 15 February 2018
VKB Knights v Multiply Titans, Kimberley 10:00
WSB Cape Cobras v Highveld Lions, Paarl 10:00
Warriors v Hollywoodbets Dolphins, Port Elizabeth 10:00
Thursday, 01 March 2018
Hollywoodbets Dolphins v WSB Cape Cobras, Pietermaritzburg Oval 09:30
VKB Knights v Highveld Lions, Kimberley 10:00
Warriors v Multiply Titans, East London 10:00
Thursday, 15 March 2018
Highveld Lions v Hollywoodbets Dolphins, Johannesburg 10:00
Warriors v VKB Knights, East London 10:00
WSB Cape Cobras v Multiply Titans, Paarl 10:00
Thursday, 22 March 2018
Hollywoodbets Dolphins v Warriors, Durban 09:30
Multiply Titans v VKB Knights, Centurion 10:00
Highveld Lions v WSB Cape Cobras, Potchefstroom 10:00
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Match Result

Who will you be backing in this year's Sunfoil Series?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.