Sri Lanka seize series lead

2012-06-16 21:15

Colombo - Sri Lanka defeated Pakistan by 44 runs in the fourth one-day international in Colombo on Saturday to gain a 2-1 lead in the five-match series.

Seamer Thisara Perera (4-42) bagged a hat-trick as Sri Lanka, who scored 243-8, bowled Pakistan out for 199 despite a 113-run stand for third wicket between opener Azhar Ali (81 not out) and skipper Misbah-ul-Haq (57).

Kumar Sangakkara top-scored for Sri Lanka with a 130-ball 97 while off-spinners Mohammad Hafeez and Saeed Ajmal, and paceman Sohail Tanvir each bagged two wickets for Pakistan in the day-night match.

Pakistan won the opening one-dayer by six wickets and Sri Lanka won the second game by 76 runs in Pallekele, while the third match was abandoned due to rain in Colombo on Wednesday.

The fifth one-dayer will be played in Colombo on Monday.


Sri Lanka 243-8 in 50 overs; Pakistan 199 in 45 overs

Upul Tharanga c Younis b Gul 4

Tillekeratne Dilshan lbw b Hafeez 24

Kumar Sangakkara c Ali b Ajmal 97

Dinesh Chandimal b Hafeez 18

Mahela Jayawardene b Tanvir 40

Thisara Perera c Akmal b Ajmal 8

Angelo Mathews not out 10

Lahiru Thirimanne run out 13

Nuwan Kulasekara b Tanvir 3

Lasith Malinga not out 0

Extras: (5b, 10lb, 11w) 26

TOTAL: (for eight wickets) 243

Overs: 50.

Fall of wickets: 1-9, 2-64, 3-90, 4-200, 5-204, 6-214, 7-237, 8-243.

Did not bat: Sajeewa Weerakoon.

Bowling: Umar Gul 8-1-51-1 (3w), Sohail Tanvir 10-2-43-2 (3w), Shahid Afridi 10-0-36-0 (1w), Younis Khan 2-0-11-0 (3w), Saeed Ajmal 10-1-50-2 (1w), Mohammad Hafeez 10-0-37-2.

Mohammad Hafeez c Kulasekara b Malinga 0

Azhar Ali not out 81

Asad Shafiq lbw b Weerakoon 25

Misbah-ul-Haq c Kulasekara b Malinga 57

Umar Akmal c Sangakkara b Kulasekara 0

Younis Khan c Sangakkara Perera 1

Shahid Afridi c Chandimal b Perera 0

Sarfraz Ahmed c Jayawardene b Perera 0

Sohail Tanvir run out 0

Umar Gul c Sangakkara b Mathews 0

Saeed Ajmal c Thirimanne b Perera 12

Extras: (9lb, 14w) 23

TOTAL: (all out) 199

Overs: 45.

Fall of wickets: 1-0, 2-53, 3-166, 4-169, 5-176, 6-176, 8-176, 9-179.

Bowling: Lasith Malinga 7-0-30-2 (2w), Nuwan Kulasekara 9-0-36-1 (5w), Angelo Mathews 9-0-33-1 (2w), Sajeewa Weerakoon 10-0-49-1 (1w), Thisara Perera 10-1-42-4 (1w).

Result: Sri Lanka won by 44 runs.

Series: Sri Lanka leads 2-1 with one match left.

Toss: won by Pakistan.

Umpires: Paul Reiffel, Australia, and Ranmore Martinez, Sri Lanka.

Third umpire: Ruchira Palliyaguru, Sri Lanka. Match referee: Chris Broad, England.


  • Theuns Jacobs - 2012-06-18 10:58

    i smell match fixing...can any1 trust these guys when they play???

  • pages:
  • 1