Sri Lanka edge England

2014-12-07 15:31
(File, Shutterstock)

Colombo - Kumar Sangakkara laid the foundation before Angelo Mathews completed a nervy chase as Sri Lanka beat England by six wickets in the fourth one-day international to go 3-1 up in the seven-match series on Sunday.

Sangakkara hit a sparkling 86 but it was Mathews' fine, if not flawless, captain's knock of 51 not out that helped the hosts overwhelm the 266-run victory target with two balls to spare at Colombo's R Premadasa Stadium.

James Taylor's career-best 90 and Eoin Morgan's belligerent 62 had powered England to 265 all out in 50 overs, nine of the wickets claimed by spinners.

Sri Lanka looked in trouble at 69 for two but Sangakkara and Mahela Jayawardene, who have played over 800 ODIs between them, added 96 runs for the third wicket to put the chase back on track.

Jayawardene dragged a Chris Jordan delivery onto his stumps to depart, while Sangakkara perished chasing a wide delivery from the same bowler.

England maintained the pressure and were nearly rewarded but Alex Hales spilled a Mathews catch in the 46th over from an exasperated Jordan.

Despite conceding 20 extra runs including 12 wide balls, the visiting bowlers showed enough fight to take the game to the last over but Mathews hit Steven Finn for a boundary to bring up his 50 and seal victory.

Pallekele hosts the fifth match on Wednesday.

Earlier, regular England captain Alastair Cook's suspension, due to a slow over-rate offence, handed Taylor an opportunity and the 24-year-old grabbed it.

Opting to bat first, England wobbled early as Hales fell for a golden duck and the in-form Moeen Ali (19) was sent back by Tillakaratne Dilshan (3-64).

The 93-run partnership between Taylor and Joe Root (36) steadied the innings before left-arm spinner Rangana Herath (3-36) dismissed Root.

Taylor, who completed his maiden ODI fifty in 69 balls with the help of two fours and as many sixes, developed cramps and became one of the three victims of spinner Ajantha Mendis.

At 170 for three in the 35th over, England looked set for a huge total but the Sri Lankan spinners, who bowled the final 21 overs of the innings, showed considerable discipline to restrict the visitors.

The scoreboard supplied by AP:


Moeen Ali c Sangakkara b Dilshan 19

Alex Hales c Jayawardene b Prasad 0

James Taylor c K.Perera b A. Mendis 90

Joe Root b Herath 36

Ravi Bopara b Dilshan 22

Eoin Morgan c Sangakkara b Dilshan 62

Jos Buttler c Jayawardene b Herath 15

Ben Stokes c T. Perera b A. Mendis 6

Chris Woakes b Herath 6

Chris Jordan c T. Perera b A. Mendis 1

Steven Finn not out 1

Extras: (1lb, 6w) 7

TOTAL: (all out) 265

Overs: 50.

Fall of wickets: 1-5, 2-29, 3-122, 4-170, 5-173, 6-203, 7-219, 8-238, 9-245.

Bowling: Angelo Mathews 6-0-21-0, Dhammika Prasad 6-1-29-1 (2w), Tillakaratne Dilshan 10-0-64-3 (2w), Thisara Perera 2-0-19-0 (1w), Rangana Herath 10-0-36-3, Jeevan Mendis 7-1-39-0, Ajantha Mendis 9-0-56-3 (1w).

Sri Lanka:

Tillakaratne Dilshan c Morgan b Woakes 16

Kusal Perera c Jordan b Ali 31

Kumar Sangakkara c Woakes b Jordan 86

Mahela Jayawardene b Jordan 44

Angelo Mathews not out 51

Lahiru Thirimanne not out 19

Extras: (4b, 4lb, 12w) 20

TOTAL: (for 4 wickets) 267

Overs: 49.3.

Fall of wickets: 1-28, 2-69, 3-165, 4-214.

Did not bat: Jeevan Mendis, Thisara Perera, Dhammika Prasad, Rangana Herath, Ajantha Mendis.

Bowling: Steven Finn 9.4-1-61-0 (3w), Chris Woakes 9-0-53-1 (1w), Moeen Ali 10-0-44-1, Chris Jordan 10-1-35-2 (3w), Joe Root 6-0-29-0 (3w), Ravi Bopara 3-0-16-0, Ben Stokes 2-0-21-0 (2w).

Toss: England.

Result: Sri Lanka won by 6 wickets.

Series: Sri Lanka leads seven-match series 3-1.

Umpires: Steve Davis, Australia, Ranmore Martinesz, Sri Lanka.

TV umpire: Simon Fry, Australia, Australia. Match referee: David Boon, Australia.


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

The 12-month ban handed down to Steve Smith and David Warner and the 9-month sanction for Cameron Bancroft for their ball-tampering roles, is ...

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.