Sri Lanka bat against England

2014-12-03 11:28
Angelo Mathews (AFP)

Hambantota - Sri Lanka's captain Angelo Mathews won the toss and elected to bat in the third one-day international against England in Hambantota on Wednesday.

With Sri Lanka leading 2-0 in the seven-match series, the tourists will be looking for a much-improved performance to avoid going into the following encounter requiring a win.

England made three changes. Ian Bell, Harry Gurney and James Tredwell were dropped and replaced with Alex Hales, Ben Stokes and Chris Jordan.

Under-fire skipper Alastair Cook gets a chance to silence critics after scoring a patchy 32 from 54 balls in the previous two matches.

Sri Lanka are without senior batsman Mahela Jayawardene, who is not playing due to personal reasons. He was replaced by Thilina Kandamby.

Both teams wore black arm-bands to mourn Australian batsman Phil Hughes, whose funeral took place earlier in the day. Hughes died in Sydney last Thursday from injuries sustained after being hit on the skull by a rising ball during a domestic match.


England: Alastair Cook (captain), Moeen Ali, Alex Hales, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan, Ravi Bopara, Jos Buttler, Chris Woakes, Ben Stokes, Chris Jordan, Steven Finn.

Sri Lanka: Angelo Mathews (captain), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kusal Perera, Kumar Sangakkara, Lahiru Thirimanne, Thilina Kandamby, Thisara Perera, Jeevan Mendis, Dhammika Prasad, Rangana Herath, Ajantha Mendis.

Umpires: Simon Fry (AUS) and Ruchira Palliyaguruge (SRI)

TV umpire: Steve Davis (AUS)

Match referee: David Boon (AUS)

Read more on:    sri lanka  |  angelo mathews  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

The 12-month ban handed down to Steve Smith and David Warner and the 9-month sanction for Cameron Bancroft for their ball-tampering roles, is ...

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.