Gayle pulls out of SA tour

2014-12-01 22:26
Devon Smith (AFP)

St. Johns - Devon Smith is to replace the West Indies injured star batsman Chris Gayle in the squad for the tour of South Africa the selectors have announced on Monday.

Smith, 33, has represented the West Indies in 33 Tests since making his debut in 2003 against Australia in Guyana.

The pugnacious left handed opener - who scored a century in his latest first class match - has scored one Test century and five half centuries and averages a shade under 37 in First Class cricket.

Gayle is the second experienced player the squad has seen drop out as Dwayne Bravo pulled out last month citing personal reasons.

The series against South Africa will be the first for the West Indies since they quit India four matches into a five-game, one-day series in October after a pay dispute between players and the board, with a Twenty20 international and three Tests to play.

The West Indies Cricket Board has since set up a task force to explore the controversy with a report due on December 18.

West Indies will play three Tests, three Twenty20 internationals and five one-dayers in South Africa.


Denesh Ramdin (captain), Sulieman Benn, Jermaine Blackwood, Kraigg Braithwaite, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Sheldon Cottrell, Assad Fudadin, Shannon Gabriel, Jason Holder, Leon Johnson, Kemar Roach, Marlon Samuels, Devon Smith, Jerome Taylor, Chadwick Walton

Read more on:    west indies  |  chris gayle  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
1 comment
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Who will win this year's Cricket World Cup?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.