Pakistan v SA

Big guns back, Smith out

2013-11-06 13:00
Graeme Smith (AFP)
Cape Town - Proteas captain AB de Villiers has won the toss and elected to bat first in the third ODI against Pakistan in Abu Dhabi on Wednesday.

The Proteas suffered a blow with opening batsman Graeme Smith ruled out of the match - as well as the reminder of the series - with post-concussion syndrome stemming from a blow he received during the recent Test series.

Quinton de Kock will now open the batting and will also take over the wicketkeeping duties from De Villiers.


As expected, Hashim Amla replaces Colin Ingram while strike bowler Dale Steyn is also back, with Wayne Parnell missing out.

The five-match series is level at 1-1.

Smith was hit on the right temple on the second day of the second Test against Pakistan by a Mohammed Irfan bouncer. 

Proteas Team Manager, Dr Mohammed Moosajee explained: “Graeme was symptom free after the blow except for a mild headache and tests at the time allowed him to continue playing. However, seven days post-injury, during the second ODI in Dubai he started complaining of blurred vision which progressed to dizziness, unsteadiness on his feet and difficulty focusing.

“The MRI scan was clear, however it is in keeping with the assessment of post-concussion syndrome, which is usually a clinical diagnosis. Post-concussion syndrome can be described as a collection of symptoms that some people develop after they have experienced a minor traumatic brain injury otherwise known as concussion.

“Graeme will leave the tour on Thursday, and has been advised a rest period of at least two weeks by the medical team. He will continuously be monitored in the interim.”

Titans batsman, Henry Davids, will join up with the squad as cover on Friday, a day earlier than the rest of incoming T20 players.



Ahmed Shehzad, Mohammad Hafeez, Asad Shafiq, Misbah-ul-Haq (captain), Umar Amin, Umar Akmal (wicketkeeper), Shahid Afridi, Sohail Tanvir, Wahab Riaz, Saeed Ajmal, Mohammad Irfan

South Africa:

Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock (wicketkeeper), JP Duminy, AB de Villiers (captain), Faf du Plessis, David Miller, Ryan McLaren, Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel, Lonwabo Tsotsobe, Imran Tahir

Umpires: Ahsan Raza (PAK) and Richard Illingworth (ENG)
TV umpire: Steve Davis (AUS)
Match referee: Ranjan Madugalle (SRI)

Read more on:    proteas  |  pakistan v sa  |  graeme smith  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Previous Results

Date Match Result

Having shared their two-Test series, who will win the five-match ODI series between Pakistan and South Africa?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.