Pakistan v SA

SA bat, pick Harris, Botha

2010-11-12 07:56
Paul Harris (File)
Dubai - South Africa won the toss and elected to bat in the first Test against Pakistan at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium on Friday.

Both teams enter something of the unknown today as it is the very first Test to be played at the venue.

Pakistan have been rocked recently by the decision of wicketkeeper Zulqarnain Haider to head to the United Kingdom in a bid to claim political asylum.

The hosts also have a new captain, in the form of Misbah-ul-Haq, while Adnan Akmal will make his test debut behind the stumps.

Opening batsman Taufeeq Umar makes a return to international cricket but Pakistan’s efforts will not be helped by the absence of senior batsman Mohammad Yousuf who is injured. He is replaced by Azhar Ali.

South Africa, who have opted to include two spinners, have a number of new faces in their team after the one-day portion of the tour.

Batsmen Alviro Petersen and Ashwell Prince, wicketkeeper Mark Boucher and left-arm spinner Paul Harris all make a return to the international stage.



Taufeeq Umar, Mohammad Hafeez, Younis Khan, Azhar Ali, Misbah-ul-Haq (captain), Umar Akmal, Adnan Akmal (wk), Abdur Rehman, Wahab Riaz, Umar Gul, Saeed Ajmal

South Africa:

Graeme Smith (captain), Alviro Petersen, Jacques Kallis, Hashim Amla, AB de Villiers, Ashwell Prince, Mark Boucher (wk), Johan Botha, Paul Harris, Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel

Read more on:    pvp

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Tuesday, 26 December 2017
South Africa v Zimbabwe, Port Elizabeth 10:00
Friday, 05 January 2018
South Africa v India, Cape Town 10:00
Saturday, 13 January 2018
South Africa v India, Centurion 10:00
Previous Results

Date Match Result

Having shared their two-Test series, who will win the five-match ODI series between Pakistan and South Africa?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.