Pakistan v SA

Rain dampens Proteas' win

2013-11-20 22:06
David Miller (Gallo Images)

Johannesburg - The Proteas have beaten Pakistan by four runs via the Duckworth/Lewis method in the first T20 international against Pakistan at the Wanderers on Wednesday night.

The Proteas posted 153 for seven in their innings.

In reply, Pakistan were on their way to have a dip at the end before rain cut short their chase.

Pakistan had moved the score to 60 for two after 9.2 overs, but were four runs behind on the D/L method.

Lonwabo Tsotsobe opened the bowling for the Proteas, and though expensive, picked up the wicket Ahmed Shehzad through a fine piece of bowling in the third over.

Tsotsobe pitched the ball on a good length and Shehzad was beaten for pace as he played on to leave the visitors on 18 for 1.

A second wicket partnership of 32 followed before JP Duminy outfoxed Nasir Jamshed in the eighth over.

Jamshed misjudged the Duminy's third delivery and was caught and bowled as the Pakistan chase began to wobble.

Rain, however, would have the final say as the second downpour of the evening curtailed proceedings and South were later awarded the win.

Earlier, Quinton de Kock and Hashim Amla combined to get South Africa off to the perfect start.

The openers put on 72 at a shade under nine runs per over.

De Kock was particularly brutal on the Pakistan bowling attack, smashing boundaries both sides of the wicket.

Amla, meanwhile, displayed great timing to race to 31 off 20 balls before he was done in the flight and bowled by Mohammad Hafeez.

De Kock soon followed - for 43 off 33 balls - attempting to clear the long on boundary, but was caught by Hafeez off the bowling of Sohail Tanvir with the score on 81 for two after 9.4 overs.

The Proteas failed to capitalise on the solid opening stand as wickets continued to fall in the middle period and were forced to settle for 153 for seven in their 20 overs.

South Africa won both the T20 and one-day series in the United Arab Emirates.

They will play the final T20 at Newlands on Friday before taking part in three one-day games over the next two weeks.


South Africa: Faf du Plessis (captain), Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock (wkt), Henry Davids, JP Duminy, David Miller, Wayne Parnell, Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel, Lonwabo Tsotsobe, Imran Tahir.

Pakistan: Mohammad Hafeez (captain), Nasir Jamshed, Ahmed Shehzad, Sohaib Maqsood, Umar Amin, Asad Shafiq, Umar Akmal (wkt), Shahid Afridi, Bilawal Bhatti, Anwar Ali, Sohail Tanvir, Saeed Ajmal.

Umpires: Johan Cloete, Shaun George (both RSA)

TV umpire: Karl Hurter (RSA)

Match referee: Andy Pycroft (ZIM)


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Thursday, 26 December 2019
South Africa v England, Centurion 10:00
Friday, 03 January 2020
South Africa v England, , Cape Town 10:30
Thursday, 16 January 2020
South Africa v England, , Port Elizabeth 10:00
Previous Results

Date Match Result

Having shared their two-Test series, who will win the five-match ODI series between Pakistan and South Africa?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.