Pakistan v SA

Proteas unchanged for T20's

2013-11-16 11:32
Proteas (Gallo Images)
Johannesburg - Cricket South Africa have announced an unchanged Proteas T20 squad on Saturday to play in the two International matches against Pakistan.

The first match takes place at the Wanderers Stadium on Wednesday, 20 November, and the second at Newlands on Friday, 22 November.

Both matches will start at 18:00 (CAT).

“We have been delighted with the form shown by this squad during the series against Pakistan in the United Arab Emirates,” commented CSA selection convener Andrew Hudson.

"I believe we are firmly on track for next year’s ICC World Twenty20 in Bangladesh.

"Winning successive series away from home against both Sri Lanka and Pakistan represents extremely heartening progress.”

The squad will assemble on Tuesday when coach Russell Domingo will decide whether to release any players to the franchises.

Meanwhile, CSA also congratulated the Proteas on their outstanding 2-0 series victory over Pakistan in Dubai.

It is a result that has seen them climb to No. 3 on the ICC T20 team rankings.

“The Proteas can be proud of their success across all three formats as their tour to the UAE ended,” commented CSA chief executive Haroon Lorgat.

“What has been especially pleasing has been the growth and consistency displayed in both limited over formats.

“With excellent showing from several new players, we can look forward to build on these performances as we continue preparations ahead of next year’s ICC World Twenty20 in Bangladesh and the ICC World Cup in Australasia the following year.

"Our home series against Pakistan, starting next week, will be further opportunity for Russell Domingo and the players to develop winning habits and I am sure our fans are looking forward to seeing the Proteas play at home.

“I extend congratulations to coach Russell, captain Faf and the team on their successive away T20 series wins in Sri Lanka and Pakistan.

" The progress made has been encouraging and we can start to believe that they are on track to match the standard set by our Test team.”

Proteas squad: Faf du Plessis (Titans, capt), Hashim Amla (Cape Cobras), Henry Davids (Titans), Quinton de Kock (Highveld Lions), AB de Villiers (Titans), JP Duminy (Cape Cobras), Imran Tahir (Highveld Lions), Ryan McLaren (Knights), David Miller (Dolphins), Morne Morkel (Titans), Wayne Parnell (Warriors), Aaron Phangiso (Highveld Lions), Dale Steyn (Cape Cobras), Lonwabo Tsotsobe (Highveld Lions), David Wiese (Titans)


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Tuesday, 26 December 2017
South Africa v Zimbabwe, Port Elizabeth 10:00
Friday, 05 January 2018
South Africa v India, Cape Town 10:00
Saturday, 13 January 2018
South Africa v India, Centurion 10:00
Previous Results

Date Match Result

Having shared their two-Test series, who will win the five-match ODI series between Pakistan and South Africa?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.