Pakistan v SA

Proteas bowling in fine fettle

2010-10-29 12:55
Graeme Smith (File)
Abu Dhabi -Lanky South African paceman Lonwabo Tsotsobe carried his Twenty20 form into the 50-over game with a career-best feat to derail Pakistan to 203 in the first day-night international here on Friday.


The 26-year-old from Eastern Province took 4-27 off his ten tight overs as Pakistan lost their last eight wickets for a mere 46 runs after winning the toss and deciding to bat on a flat Abu Dhabi Stadium pitch.

Tsotsobe, who took five wickets in South Africa's 2-0 win in the Twenty20 series which finished here on Wednesday, rocked the Pakistan middle-order with a burst of three wickets off just nine balls during his second four-over spell.

Tsotsobe's effort backed by disciplined spin bowling by Johan Botha (2-40) put brakes on Pakistan's innings after Mohammad Hafeez (68) and returning Younis Khan (54) put on 114 for the second wicket.

Tsotsobe removed opener Asad Shafiq (19) in the eighth over before Younis -- returning to the side after being cleared by Pakistan Cricket Board last month following a ban on discipline violation, joined Hafeez in a damage repair act.

Hafeez hit seven boundaries during his 84-ball sixth one-day fifty before cutting Botha straight into the hands of Charl Langeveldt. Four overs later, Younis was trapped leg-before by Botha.

Younis hit two boundaries during his 75-ball knock.

Tsotsobe's triple strike followed as he removed Misbah-ul-Haq (14), Shahid Afridi (one) and Abdul Razzaq (two) to complete Pakistan's slide on a similar pattern of Twenty20 matches in which they were restricted to 119 and 120-9.

Tsotsobe's previous best bowling figures were 4-50 against Australia on his one-day debut at Perth last year.


Asad Shafiq c Amla b Tsotsobe 19

Mohammad Hafeez c Langeveldt b Botha 68

Younis Khan lbw b Botha 54

Misbah-ul-Haq c Ingram b Tsotsobe 14

Fawad Alam b Langeveldt 9

Shahid Afridi c Smith b Tsotsobe 1

Abdul Razzaq c de Villiers b Tsotsobe 2

Zulqarnain Haider not out 12

Umar Gul c de Villiers b Morkel 3

Saeed Ajmal run out 3

Shoaib Akhtar c Miller b Langeveldt 6

Extras: (lb4, w8) 12

Total: 203

Fall of wickets: 1-26 (Shafiq), 2-140 (Hafeez), 3-157 (Younis), 4-165 (Haq), 5-167 (Afridi), 6-173 (Razzaq), 7-177 (Alam), 8-183 (Gul), 9-195 (Ajmal)

Bowling: Langeveldt 10-1-47-2 (3w), Tsotsobe 10-3-27-4 (1w), Morkel 8-0-32-1 (2w), Kallis 6-0-22-0, Botha 10-0-40-2 (1w), Duminy 5-0-31-0 (1w)

Overs: 49


Pakistan – Asad Rafiq, Mohammad Hafeez, Umar Akmal, Younis Khan, Misbah-ul-Haq, Fawad Alam, Shahid Afridi (capt), Abdul Razzaq, Zulqarnain Haider (wk), Umar Gul, Shoaib Akhtar, Saeed Ajmal.

South Africa - Graeme Smith (capt), Hashim Amla, Jacques Kallis, AB de Villiers (wk), JP Duminy, Colin Ingram, David Miller, Johan Botha, Morne Morkel, Charl Langeveldt, Lonwabo Tsotsobe.

Umpires: Asad Rauf (PAK) and Rodney Tucker (AUS)

Tv Umpire: Zameer Haider (PAK)

Match Referee: Andrew Pycroft (ZIM)

Read more on:    proteas

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Tuesday, 26 December 2017
South Africa v Zimbabwe, Port Elizabeth 10:00
Friday, 05 January 2018
South Africa v India, Cape Town 10:00
Saturday, 13 January 2018
South Africa v India, Centurion 10:00
Previous Results

Date Match Result

Having shared their two-Test series, who will win the five-match ODI series between Pakistan and South Africa?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.