Pakistan v SA

Proteas bowlers do decent job

2013-11-30 13:44
Proteas celebrate (Gallo Images)
Centurion - The Proteas have dismissed Pakistan for 179 in the final one-day international at SuperSport Park on Saturday.


Only a lone effort of 79 not out from captain Misbah-ul-Haq, off 107 balls, stood between South Africa and the visitors being rolled over before facing 46.5 overs.

The Proteas had already lost the three-match series 2-0, and were hoping to avoid a series whitewash.

Vernon Philander was chief destroyer, returning figures of 3/26 off his ten overs. He was imperious in his line and length, and was rewarded with the scalp of Ahmed Shehzad (0) in the opening over of the match.

Philander, with a full swinging delivery outside off, induced the edge from the century-maker in the previous match and Hashim Amla took a good catch at slip.

Asad Shafiq (1) was next to fall, off the bowling of Lonwabo Tsotsobe to leave the visitors on 7/2 in the fourth over. The left arm seamer found extra bounce and Shafiq could only succeed in edging the ball behind to the grateful Quinton de Kock.

A short period of restoration followed with Umar Amin and Sohaib Maqsood sharing in a 41 run stand until Ryan McLaren made the breakthrough in the 11th over.

He banged the ball in short and Amin had a wild slash which Amla managed to hold after a spectacular, full-length dive to dismiss the opener. The wicket left Pakistan on 48/3 after 11 overs.

Next to depart was Maqsood when McLaren did the trick with another short ball. The batsman mistimed his pull shot as McLaren changed direction in a flash to take a classy caught and bowled.

Philander picked up two more scalps - Umar Akmal and Anwar Ali - as the steady fall of wickets continued.

An eighth wicket partnership of 51 between Misbah-ul-Haq and Abdur Rehman (22) restored some respectability. The captain playing majestically before he ran out of partners, giving one chance when he was dropped on 43 by JP Duminy at point.


South Africa: Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock (wicketkeeper), Henry Davids, JP Duminy, AB de Villiers (captain), Ryan McLaren, Wayne Parnell, David Miller, Vernon Philander, Lonwabo Tsotsobe, Imran Tahir

Pakistan: Ahmed Shehzad, Umar Amin, Sohaib Maqsood, Misbah-ul-Haq (captain), Asad Shafiq, Umar Akmal (wicketkeeper), Bilawal Bhati, Anwar Ali, Sohail Tanvir, Abdul Rehman, Saaed Ajmal

Read more on:    proteas  |  sa v pakistan  |  vernon philander  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Previous Results

Date Match Result

Having shared their two-Test series, who will win the five-match ODI series between Pakistan and South Africa?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.