SA in Sri Lanka

Proteas face massive target

2013-07-31 14:45
Lahiru Thirimanne (AFP)
Cape Town - The Proteas face a massive task if they are to win the fifth and final ODI against Sri Lanka in Colombo on Wednesday.

LIVE scorecard: Sri Lanka v South Africa

Tillakaratne Dilshan shone for the host and narrowly missed out on his second successive century by one run as Sri Lanka piled up 307/4.

The aggressive opener, who hit an unbeaten 115 in the fourth game in Pallekele on Sunday, plundered 13 boundaries before he was bowled for 99 by Ryan McLaren in the 39th over.

Lahiru Thirimanne, promoted to number three, scored 68 and Kumar Sangakkara was unbeaten on 75 off 45 balls after Sri Lanka won the toss and chose to bat at the Premadasa stadium.

Sangakkara hit 12 fours, helping the hosts take 52 runs from the final five overs as the South African bowlers wilted in steamy conditions.

Left-handed Thirimanne and Dilshan put on 163 for the second wicket after Kusal Perera was caught behind off Morne Morkel in the fifth over.

Perera was one of the four changes made by the hosts, who have already taken an unassailable 3-1 lead in the series.

Sri Lanka rested Mahela Jayawardene, Lasith Malinga, Upul Tharanga and Rangana Herath, replacing them with seamer Suranga Lakmal, spinner Sachithra Senanayake and batsmen Angelo Perera and Kusal Perera.

The tourists, looking for a consolation win, recalled McLaren and spinner Aaron Phangiso in place of Rory Kleinveldt and Robin Peterson.


Sri Lanka

Kusal Perera, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kumar Sangakkara (wicketkeeper), Lahiru Thirimanne, Dinesh Chandimal, Angelo Mathews (captain), Angelo Perera, Thisara Perera, Sachithra Senanayake, Suranga Lakmal, Ajantha Mendis

South Africa

Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock (wicketkeeper), JP Duminy, AB de Villiers (captain), Faf du Plessis, David Miller, Farhaan Behardien, Ryan McLaren, Aaron Phangiso, Morne Morkel, Lonwabo Tsotsobe

Umpires: Richard Kettleborough (ENG) and Raveendra Wimalasiri (SRI)
TV umpire: Ranmore Martinesz (SRI)
Match referee: Andy Pycroft (ZIM)

Read more on:    proteas  |  sa in sl  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Previous Results

Date Match Result

Which cricketer is currently of most value to the Proteas' Test team?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.