SA trio crack ICC teams nod

2014-11-05 11:29
Dale Steyn (Gallo)
Cape Town - The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Wednesday announced its Test and ODI Teams of the Year, as chosen by a specially appointed selection panel chaired by the ICC’s Cricket Committee chairperson and former India captain Anil Kumble.

READ: AB in line for top ODI award

The announcement was made by Kumble at a media conference at the ICC Headquarters in Dubai, where ICC Chief Executive David Richardson also announced the shortlists for the ICC Awards 2014.

This year’s winners will be announced on November 14, while a special TV show, which will recap the last year in world cricket and also include interviews with many nominees and winners, will be broadcast on November 15.

ICC Test Team of the Year 2014 (in batting order):

David Warner (Aus), Kane Williamson (NZ), Kumar Sangakkara (SL), AB de Villiers (SA), Joe Root (Eng), Angelo Mathews (SL) (captain), Mitchell Johnson (Aus), Stuart Broad (Eng), Dale Steyn (SA), Rangana Herath (SL), Tim Southee (NZ), Ross Taylor (NZ) (12th man)

 - Sri Lanka’s Angelo Mathews has been named as the captain of the side that also includes two more Sri Lankans in Kumar Sangakkara and Rangana Herath. This is the seventh time since 2006 that Sangakkara has been selected in the ICC Test Team of the Year. He missed out on selection in 2009 and 2013.

South Africa's Dale Steyn has also been selected for a record seventh successive year in the ICC Test Team of the Year, while his team-mate AB de Villiers has been selected for the fifth time (2009, 2010, 2011, 2013 and 2014).

Stuart Broad (2009, 2011 and 2012) and Mitchell Johnson (2009) are the other players who have previously been selected in the ICC Test Team of the Year.

ICC ODI Team of the Year 2014 (in batting order):

Mohammad Hafeez (Pak), Quinton de Kock (SA), Virat Kohli (Ind), George Bailey (Aus), AB de Villiers (SA), MS Dhoni (wicketkeeper/captain), Dwayne Bravo (WI), James Faulkner (Aus), Dale Steyn (SA), Mohammad Shami (India), Ajantha Mendis (SL), Rohit Sharma (Ind) (12th man)

 - India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni has been selected in the ICC ODI Team of the Year for the eighth time (seventh year in a row), while it is the fifth year that he has been appointed captain.

Players to be previously selected in the ICC ODI Team of the Year are De Villiers (2010, 2011 and 2013), Virat Kohli (2012) and Ajantha Mendis (2009).

South Africa's Quinton de Kock makes the team for the first time.

“I would like to congratulate all the players for their selection in the teams of the year. It is an achievement to be proud of and a recognition for their good performances in the qualifying period," said Kumble.

“Team selection is one of the toughest jobs and when you have a large pool of outstanding players to select from in a 12-month period between August 26, 2013 and September 17, 2014, then it becomes even more difficult.

“However, we think we have selected the best possible sides, which are well balanced and capable of beating any side on any given day in any given conditions. While selecting these squads, the selectors discussed various combinations and took into account several scenarios like opposition, pitch conditions and match situations.”

Kumble was joined on the panel by Jonathan Agnew, a former England international and now a respected broadcaster/journalist, ex-Sri Lanka opener Russel Arnold, former New Zealand captain Stephen Fleming, and Betty Timmer, former Chair of the ICC Women’s Committee.

 Statistics were available as a guide but were not necessarily the overwhelming factor in the choices made.


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

The Proteas have announced plans to play a four-day Test against Zimbabwe starting on Boxing Day. What do you make of this?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.