Sharma's 209 floors Aussies

2013-11-02 18:00
Rohit Sharma (Getty Images)
Bangalore - Rohit Sharma became only the third man to reach 200 in an ODI as India beat Australia by 57 runs to clinch the series in the seventh and final one-day international on Saturday, reports the website.

In pursuit of a daunting target of 384, the tourists lost big-hitting Aaron Finch with the second ball of the second over when a Mohammed Shami delivery struck him in front of leg stump for just five.

Things would not get any better for the Australians as they lost Phil Hughes (23), George Bailey (4) and Brad Haddin (40) in the space of less than five overs.

It looked like it was all over for Australia when Nathan Coulter-Nile (3) was caught by Kohli off the bowling of Ravindra Jadeja, with the scoreboard reading 211 for eight.

However James Faulkner had other ideas as he bludgeoned his way to the fastest century by an Australian, 100 from 57 balls.

Faulkner and Clint McKay put on 115 runs for the ninth wicket at a rate of 7.75 per over before McKay was bowled by Jadeja for 18 runs.

In search of an improbable victory the inevitable happened when Faulkner skied a Shami delivery and was caught for 116 from 73 balls which included 11 fours and 6 sixes.

Shami and Jadeja finished with three wickets each.

Earlier, 26-year-old Sharma's ferocious double ton launched India to 383 for six.

His innings of 209 came from a mere 158 balls, and included 12 fours and 16 sixes – the most sixes ever in an ODI innings.

Sharma's historic innings came to an end in the last over when he flicked a ball to substitute fielder Moises Henriques, who took a great catch diving forward at fine leg.

MS Dhoni and Sharma put on a mammoth 167 runs for the sixth wicket, which included 101 runs in the last five overs.

India won the ODI series 3-2 with the fourth and fifth matches ending without a result due to bad weather.



RG Sharma, S Dhawan, SK Raina, V Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, MS Dhoni (captain/ wk), RA Jadeja, R Ashwin, B Kumar, R Vinay Kumar, Mohammed Shami


AJ Finch, PJ Hughes, SR Watson, GJ Bailey (captain), AC Voges, GJ Maxwell, BJ Haddin (wk), JP Faulkner, NM Coulter-Nile, CJ McKay, XJ Doherty 

Read more on:    india  |  australia  |  rohit sharma  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

The Proteas have announced plans to play a four-day Test against Zimbabwe starting on Boxing Day. What do you make of this?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.