Rayudu ton guides India home

2014-11-06 20:05
Ambati Rayudu (AFP)
Ahmedabad - Ambati Rayudu has hit an unbeaten 121 to help India to a comfortable six-wicket victory over Sri Lanka in their second one-day international in Ahmedabad on Thursday.

The website reports that Rayudu hit the winning runs with more than five overs to spare, having faced only 118 deliveries, reaching the boundary 10 times, and clearing it four times.

Rayudu was ably assisted by Shikhar Dhawan's 79, and a breezy 49 from Virat Kohli.

Sri Lanka's bowlers started off well, sending Ajinkya Rahane back for 18, but after the initial breakthrough, it was one-way traffic, and the result never looked in doubt.

Seekkuge Prasanna finished with 3-53, but could not prevent the inevitable.

An undefeated 92 from Angelo Mathews kept Sri Lanka afloat as they reached 274 for eight after opting to bat.

Mathews faced 101 deliveries as he kept the innings together with his 23rd half-century, after the visitors suffered a slight collapse in the middle order.

A late flurry from Dhammika Prasad (30 not out off 28 balls) complemented Mathews, and the pair added 49 off the final five overs for a respectable total.

India effected an early breakthrough with the wicket of Kusal Perera (0) in the first over. Tillakaratne Dilshan and Kumar Sangakkara added 51 for the second wicket before Dilshan departed for 35, followed by Mahela Jayawardene (4).

However, Sangakkara found a stable partner in captain Mathews and put the innings back on track with 90 runs in just over 18 overs.

Sangakkara (61) brought up his 87th ODI half-century before falling to a full toss from Umesh Yadav, hitting it to Shikhar Dhawan at mid-on who completed an overhead catch.

Yadav, Ravichandran Ashwin and Akshar Patel all finished with two wickets each.

The tour now moves to Hyderabad for the third encounter on Sunday, and -- leading the five-match series 2-0 -- India will be eager to wrap up the series.


India: S Dhawan, AM Rahane, V Kohli (capt), AT Rayudu, SK Raina, WP Saha (wk), RA Jadeja, R Ashwin, AR Patel, UT Yadav, I Sharma

Sri Lanka: MDKJ Perera, TM Dilshan, KC Sangakkara (wk), DPMD Jayawardene, AD Mathews (capt), SMA Priyanjan, NLTC Perera, S Prasanna, S Randiv, KTGD Prasad, PLS

Read more on:    cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 Absa Premiership season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

The Proteas have announced plans to play a four-day Test against Zimbabwe starting on Boxing Day. What do you make of this?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.