R45 million for CWC winners

2014-11-10 15:30
CWC trophy (File)

Dubai - The International Cricket Council on Monday announced a 20 percent increase in prize money for next year's Cricket World Cup in Australia and New Zealand.

The winners will take home $3.975 million, but if a team remains unbeaten that would rise to more than $4m.

"A total of $10 million, an increase of approximately 20 percent over the Cricket World Cup 2011, will be available," said the ICC.

The 2011 edition jointly hosted by India, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka had prize money of $8.01 million.

"Should a team at the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 win the tournament without losing a match, it will receive total prize money of $4 020 000, while a team that loses one match on the way to winning the tournament will receive $3 975 000."

The team which loses the March 29 final at Melbourne will pocket $1.75 million while the two losing semi-finalists will each get $600 000 each.

The four losing quarter-finalists will receive $300 000 each while the winners of each group matches will get $45 000 per match, the ICC said.

All six teams eliminated from the first stage will get $35 000 each.

The decision was taken at a two-day ICC Board meeting in Dubai while playing conditions were also finalised for the 10th edition of the World Cup, from February 14 to March 29, 2015.

The ICC also announced that the Decision Review System (DRS) will be used in all 49 matches and that there would only be reserve days in the knock-out phase.

It also added that there will be no super over in tied matches in the knock-out phase.

In case of a tied quarter-final and semi-final, the side finishing in the higher position in the group stage would progress.

If the final is tied or if the match is a no-result, then the teams will be declared joint winners.

The ICC Board approved cut-off dates for qualification to the 2017 Champions Trophy and the 2019 World Cup.

The top eight sides on the ICC one-day rankings on September 30, 2015 will qualify for the 2017 Champions Trophy in England.

The cut-off date for the 10-team 2019 World Cup, also in England, was set for September 30, 2017.

The top eight ranked sides on that date will automatically qualify for the World Cup, while the ninth and 10th ranked teams will play in the World Cup qualifying competition in Bangladesh in 2018.

Read more on:    proteas  |  cwc 2015  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Following Ottis Gibson's firing, who would you like to see handed the new Team Manager role?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.