Proteas in England

SA call up Elgar, rest Kallis

2012-07-25 16:37
Dean Elgar (File)

SA stars AB de Villiers and Hashim Amla have paid a visit to the SA Olympic press conference to wish Team SA well for the Games

Cape Town - Cricket South Africa (CSA) on Wednesday named Knights all-rounder Dean Elgar as a new cap in the Proteas’ squad for the ODI series against England next month.

He takes the place of Jacques Kallis who is being rested ahead of the ICC World Twenty20 in September.

In other changes to the squad which went to New Zealand earlier in the year, Imran Tahir has been included as a specialist spinner while Ryan McLaren was recalled as an additional seamer.

"Dean has been in our plans for some time," commented CSA selection convener Andrew Hudson, "and might well have made his debut last year but for injury.

"Imran is a genuine wicket-taking bowler and his selection enables us to explore our options in this area.

"Ryan has just come off some exceptional form for the South Africa 'A' side and the added depth he provides in the seam bowling department will allow us to rotate players if we feel the need arises."

Five members of the Proteas' squad - Wayne Parnell, Faf du Plessis, Justin Ontong, Elgar and McLaren - will travel to Ireland for the South Africa 'A' side's first one-day game there - and then join the rest of the squad in England.

There is one new cap in the South Africa 'A' limited overs squad in Rowan Richards, the left arm seamer from the Titans.

Rusty Theron could not be considered for this squad because of injury.

Proteas' ODI squad: AB de Villiers (captain), Hashim Amla (vice-captain), JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Dean Elgar, Imran Tahir, Ryan McLaren, Albie Morkel, Morne Morkel, Justin Ontong, Wayne Parnell, Robin Peterson, Graeme Smith, Dale Steyn, Lonwabo Tsotsobe.

South Africa 'A' four-day squad (v Ireland): Faf du Plessis (captain), Temba Bavuma, Farhaan Behardien, Dean Elgar, Quinton Friend, Simon Harmer, Reeza Hendricks, Rory Kleinveldt, Heino Kuhn, Ryan McLaren, Chris Morris, Justin Ontong, Wayne Parnell, Stiaan van Zyl, Dane Vilas.

South Africa 'A' one-day squad (vs. Ireland): Colin Ingram (captain), Kyle Abbott, Temba Bavuma, Farhaan Behardien, Reeza Hendricks, Rory Kleinveldt, Richard Levi, David Miller, Chris Morris, Aaron Phangiso, Rowan Richards, Thami Tsolekile, Roelof van der Merwe, Dane Vilas.

South Africa 'A' T20 squad (v Ireland): Colin Ingram (captain), Kyle Abbott, Farhaan Behardien, Johan Botha, Reeza Hendricks, Rory Kleinveldt, Richard Levi, David Miller, Chris Morris, Aaron Phangiso, Rowan Richards, Thami Tsolekile, Roelof van der Merwe, Stiaan van Zyl, Dane Vilas.

The Proteas' squad for the T20 series in England as well as the ICC World Twenty20 will be named in mid-August.


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk
Breaking News

Previous Results

Date Match Result

The Proteas' three-Test tour of Australia is:

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.