WPCA: No floodlight issues expected for T20 at Newlands

2019-03-18 21:18
Newlands Cricket (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - After Saturday's fifth ODI between the Proteas and Sri Lanka was cut short by one of the light pylons failing, the Western Province Cricket Association (WPCA) has apologised to both teams, Cricket South Africa and the public for the failure.

WPCA CEO Nabeal Dien expressed regret at what occurred but "unfortunately could not have been detected early in any pre-match testing which takes place before any domestic or international match".

"According to our electrical engineers, there was an underground cable that short-circuited due to rodents or age. This also caused the switches and circuit breaker to trip continuously in the pylon," he added.

"The problem has been resolved and we are confident that tomorrow's T20 International will take place without any light interruptions.

"We apologise to both the Proteas and Sri Lankan teams as well as to the general public who attended the match and who were viewing on television," he concluded.

The first T20 International between the Proteas and Sri Lanka takes place at Newlands on Tuesday, March 18 starting at 18:00.

Proteas squad (for 1st T20 International match against Sri Lanka):

Faf du Plessis (Titans, captain), Quinton de Kock (Titans), JP Duminy (Cape Cobras), Reeza Hendricks (Highveld Lions), Imran Tahir (Dolphins), Aiden Markram (Titans), David Miller (Dolphins), Lungi Ngidi (Titans), Anrich Nortje (Warriors), Andile Phehlukwayo (Dolphins), Dwaine Pretorius (Highveld Lions), Kagiso Rabada (Highveld Lions), Tabraiz Shamsi (Titans), Dale Steyn (Titans), Rassie van der Dussen (Highveld Lions)

Proteas squad (for 2nd and 3rd T20 International matches against Sri Lanka):

JP Duminy (Cape Cobras, captain), Reeza Hendricks (Highveld Lions), Aiden Markram (Titans), David Miller (Dolphins), Chris Morris (Titans), Anrich Nortje (Warriors), Andile Phehlukwayo (Dolphins), Dwaine Pretorius (Highveld Lions), Sinethemba Qeshile (Warriors), Tabraiz Shamsi (Titans), Lutho Sipamla (Warriors), Dale Steyn (Titans), Rassie van der Dussen (Highveld Lions)


March 19: 18:00, 1st T20 International, Newlands, Cape Town (D/N)

March 22: 18:00, 2nd T20 International, SuperSport Park, Centurion (D/N)

March 24: 14:30, 3rd T20 International, Wanderers Stadium (Day)

Read more on:    sri lanka  |  proteas  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Sport Talk
Breaking News

Previous Results

Date Match Result

Who will win this year's Cricket World Cup?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.