Cape Town - When Herschelle Gibbs 'dropped' Steve Waugh in the pool stages of the 1999 Cricket World Cup, few would have thought how significant a moment that would prove to be.
Waugh went on to score a century and won the match for the Aussies, securing them a place in the semi-finals, where they would go on to knock the Proteas out in dramatic fashion.
Now, 17 years later, former Australian spinner Shane Warne says that catch should have been given 'out'.
Gibbs' catch was rehashed this week when Indian seamer Umesh Yadav dismissed Joe Root in similar fashion in the first Test against England.
Yadav had looked to throw the ball up in celebration, but lost control. After the decision was referred to the third umpire, Root was given his marching orders, prompting a renewed discussion over Gibbs' blunder.
"To me, I think if you look at this in the slow motion, it looks like (Gibbs) held it - he caught it ... he goes to throw it up, and he drops it," the cricket.com.au website quoted Warne as saying on Nine's Wide World of Sports.
"Now I think the letter of the law is, did he have control of that ball?
"And you'd have to say 'yes'."
However, Gibbs told Indian newspaper Mid-day that the umpires had gotten it right back in 1999.
"He (Yadav) actually had control of the ball and threw it in the air whereas I wanted to throw it up but dropped it," Gibbs said.
"Mine eventuated in a not out, but Yadav's catch was valid. The umpires got it right both times."