Tahir named in CPL's All-Star team

2018-09-19 13:52
imran tahir
Imran Tahir (Getty Images)

Cape Town - Proteas leg-spinner Imran Tahir was named in the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) All-Star team of the tournament for 2018.

On Sunday, Trinbago Knight Riders sealed their third CPL title when they cruised to a eight-wicket victory over Guyana Amazon Warriors in Trinidad and Tobago.

The All-Star team was selected by Tom Moody, Mark Butcher, Daren Ganga, Ian Bishop, Danny Morrison and Michael Slater.

The team features three Windies players aged 25 and under in Rovman Powell (330 runs), Shimron Hetmyer (440 runs) and Oshane Thomas (18 wickets), all of whom have had an outstanding tournament in 2018.  

Experienced Caribbean cricketers Andre Russell (163 runs and 14 wickets), Kieron Pollard (330 runs and four wickets) and Darren Bravo (353 runs) are also in the side.

The overseas players that have made it into the team are Colin Munro (567 runs) and Glenn Phillips (457 runs) of New Zealand, Imran Tahir (16 wickets) of South Africa, Fawad Ahmed (22 wickets) of Australia and Ali Khan (16 wickets) of the USA.

Tahir finished third in the highest wicket-taker column - taking 16 in 12 games at an average of 17.75.

Proteas middle-order batsman David Miller was the best South African batsman in the CPL, scoring 205 runs in 8 appearances at an average of 68.33 for the Jamaica Tallawahs.

Miller was rested for the Proteas home series against Zimbabwe starting next week.

Meanwhile, Tahir returns back to the ODI team when the Proteas take on Zimbabwe in the first ODI starting on Sunday, September 30.

The full team of the tournament is as follows: 

Colin Munro (Trinbago Knight Riders - New Zealand), Glenn Phillips (Jamaica Tallawahs - New Zealand), Shimron Hetmyer (Guyana Amazon Warriors - West Indies), Rovman Powell (Jamaica Tallawahs - West Indies), Darren Bravo (Trinbago Knight Riders - West Indies), Kieron Pollard (St Lucia Stars - West Indies), Andre Russell (Jamaica Tallawahs - West Indies), Ali Khan (Trinbago Knight Riders - USA), Imran Tahir (Guyana Amazon Warriors - South Africa), Oshane Thomas (Jamaica Tallawahs - West Indies), Fawad Ahmed (Trinbago Knight Riders - Australia)

Read more on:    imran tahir  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Previous Results

Date Match Result

Who will win the upcoming India v Proteas three-match ODI series?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2019/20 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.