Sri Lanka win toss, ask SA to bat at overcast Kingsmead

2019-02-13 09:34
faf du plessis
Faf du Plessis (AP)

Cape Town - Sri Lanka won the toss and elected to bowl in the first Test against South Africa at Kingsmead in Durban on Wednesday.

SCORECARD: Proteas v Sri Lanka, Day 1

South Africa opted for a five-man bowling attack, adding left-arm spinner Keshav Maharaj to the four-pronged pace attack that dominated the last two Tests against Pakistan recently, with batsman Theunis de Bruyn making way for the extra bowler.

Dimuth Karunaratne, captaining Sri Lanka for the first time, said he believed conditions would help his bowlers at the start of the match. 

"There is quite a bit of grass and a bit of moisture in the surface. We want to get the maximum out of it."

Sri Lanka included two new caps in batsman Oshada Fernando and left-arm spinner Lasith Embuldeniya.

"The four seamers are so much of an X-factor," said South African captain Faf du Plessis.

The match was due to start in hot, sunny conditions but rain is likely later in the day.


South Africa

Faf du Plessis (captain), Dean Elgar, Aiden Markram, Hashim Amla, Temba Bavuma, Quinton de Kock (wkt), Vernon Philander, Keshav Maharaj, Kagiso Rabada, Dale Steyn, Duanne Olivier.

Sri Lanka

Dimuth Karunaratne (captain), Kusal Perera, Kusal Mendis, Dhananjaya de Silva, Niroshan Dickwella (wkt), Oshada Fernando, Lahiru Thirimanne, Suranga Lakmal, Vishwa Fernando, Kasun Rajitha, Lasith Embuldeniya.

Umpires: Aleem Dar (PAK), Richard Kettleborough (ENG)

TV umpire: Ian Gould (ENG)

Match referee: Richie Richardson (WIN)

Read more on:    sri lanka  |  proteas  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming

Friday, 22 March 2019
South Africa v Sri Lanka, Centurion 18:00
Sunday, 24 March 2019
South Africa v Sri Lanka, , Johannesburg 14:30
Previous Results

Date Match Result

Who will win this year's Cricket World Cup?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2018/19 Absa Premiership season is in full swing. Will Mamelodi Sundowns retain their title? Or can one of Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Wits, SuperSport United - or another team perhaps - snatch glory from the Brazilians? Be sure to visit Sport24 for all the latest news!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.